Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-10 Thread Morgan Fainberg
On Fri, Jun 10, 2016 at 4:19 PM, Boris Pavlovic wrote: > Morgan, > > >> When there were failures, the failures were both not looked at by the >> Rally team and was not performance reasons at the time, it was rally not >> able to be setup/run at all. > > > Prove this, or it's

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-10 Thread Boris Pavlovic
Morgan, > When there were failures, the failures were both not looked at by the > Rally team and was not performance reasons at the time, it was rally not > able to be setup/run at all. Prove this, or it's not true. I agree there were such situations (very rarely actually) and we were fixing

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-10 Thread Boris Pavlovic
Lance, I share just how it looked from my side. I really support your idea (no matter what you pick to use your tooling/rally/jmeter) it is very valuable, especially if it will become voting job. This really should be done by someone. Best regards, Boris Pavlovic On Fri, Jun 10, 2016 at 3:26

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-10 Thread Morgan Fainberg
On Fri, Jun 10, 2016 at 3:26 PM, Lance Bragstad wrote: > >1. I care about performance. I just believe that a big hurdle has been >finding infrastructure that allows us to run performance tests in a >consistent manner. Dedicated infrastructure plays a big role in

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-10 Thread Lance Bragstad
1. I care about performance. I just believe that a big hurdle has been finding infrastructure that allows us to run performance tests in a consistent manner. Dedicated infrastructure plays a big role in this, which is hard (if not impossible) to obtain in the gate - making the gate

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-10 Thread Boris Pavlovic
Lance, It is amazing effort, I am wishing you good luck with Keystone team, however i faced some issues when I started similar effort about 3 years ago with Rally. Here are some points, that are going to be very useful for you: 1. I think that Keystone team doesn't care about performance &

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-10 Thread Lance Bragstad
Ok - here is what I have so far [0], and I admit there is still a bunch of work to do [1]. I encourage folks to poke through the code and suggest improvements via Github Issues. I've never really stood up third-party testing before so this is completely new to me and I'm open to feedback, and

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-06 Thread Clint Byrum
Excerpts from Brant Knudson's message of 2016-06-03 15:16:20 -0500: > On Fri, Jun 3, 2016 at 2:35 PM, Lance Bragstad wrote: > > > Hey all, > > > > I have been curious about impact of providing performance feedback as part > > of the review process. From what I understand,

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-06 Thread Perry, Sean
From: Lance Bragstad [lbrags...@gmail.com] Sent: Friday, June 03, 2016 1:57 PM To: OpenStack Development Mailing List (not for usage questions) Subject: Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process Here is a list

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-03 Thread Morgan Fainberg
On Jun 3, 2016 13:16, "Brant Knudson" wrote: > > > > On Fri, Jun 3, 2016 at 2:35 PM, Lance Bragstad wrote: >> >> Hey all, >> >> I have been curious about impact of providing performance feedback as part of the review process. From what I understand, keystone

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-03 Thread Lance Bragstad
Dedicated and isolated infrastructure is a must if we want consistent performance numbers. If we can come up with a reasonable plan, I'd be happy to ask for resources. Even with dedicated infrastructure we would still have to keep in mind that it's a data point from a single provider that

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-03 Thread Brant Knudson
On Fri, Jun 3, 2016 at 2:35 PM, Lance Bragstad wrote: > Hey all, > > I have been curious about impact of providing performance feedback as part > of the review process. From what I understand, keystone used to have a > performance job that would run against proposed patches

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-03 Thread Matthew Treinish
On Fri, Jun 03, 2016 at 01:53:16PM -0600, Matt Fischer wrote: > On Fri, Jun 3, 2016 at 1:35 PM, Lance Bragstad wrote: > > > Hey all, > > > > I have been curious about impact of providing performance feedback as part > > of the review process. From what I understand, keystone

Re: [openstack-dev] [keystone][all] Incorporating performance feedback into the review process

2016-06-03 Thread Matt Fischer
On Fri, Jun 3, 2016 at 1:35 PM, Lance Bragstad wrote: > Hey all, > > I have been curious about impact of providing performance feedback as part > of the review process. From what I understand, keystone used to have a > performance job that would run against proposed patches