Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-17 Thread Thierry Carrez
Sean Dague wrote: I want StoryBoard more than anyone else. However future Puppies and Unicorns don't fix real problems right now. With the tools already at our disposal, just using them a different way, I think we can fix some real problems. I think, more importantly, we're going to discover a

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-17 Thread Thierry Carrez
Doug Hellmann wrote: Other projects up to try it? The only possible addition is that we might need to work out is cross-project blueprints and which repo should those live in? We're doing well on integration, be careful about siloing. TBH tracking cross-project blueprint impact is a problem

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-10 Thread John Garbutt
On 6 March 2014 19:09, Russell Bryant rbry...@redhat.com wrote: On 03/06/2014 01:05 PM, Sean Dague wrote: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint overload. At some point there were over 150 blueprints. Many of them were a single sentence. The results of this have

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-10 Thread John Garbutt
On 7 March 2014 19:50, Tim Bell tim.b...@cern.ch wrote: The recent operator gathering (https://etherpad.openstack.org/p/operators-feedback-mar14) concluded a similar proposal, based on Blueprint-on-Blueprints (BoB for short). The aim was that operators of production OpenStack clouds should

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-10 Thread Russell Bryant
On 03/10/2014 08:20 AM, John Garbutt wrote: We probably need a mass un-approve of all the blueprints in Nova, so all new blueprints in Juno go through the new process. I can take charge of that part, and helping with joining some of the dots and testing this out. Sounds great. I do think we

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-10 Thread Russell Bryant
On 03/10/2014 11:41 AM, Russell Bryant wrote: On 03/10/2014 08:20 AM, John Garbutt wrote: We probably need a mass un-approve of all the blueprints in Nova, so all new blueprints in Juno go through the new process. I can take charge of that part, and helping with joining some of the dots and

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Alexis Lee
Sean Dague said on Thu, Mar 06, 2014 at 01:05:15PM -0500: The results of this have been that design review today is typically not happening on Blueprint approval, but is instead happening once the code shows up in the code review. So -1s and -2s on code review are a mix of design and code

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Daniel P. Berrange
On Thu, Mar 06, 2014 at 01:05:15PM -0500, Sean Dague wrote: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint overload. At some point there were over 150 blueprints. Many of them were a single sentence. The results of this have been that design review today is typically

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Thierry Carrez
Sean Dague wrote: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint overload. At some point there were over 150 blueprints. Many of them were a single sentence. The results of this have been that design review today is typically not happening on Blueprint approval, but is

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Daniel P. Berrange
On Fri, Mar 07, 2014 at 12:30:15PM +0100, Thierry Carrez wrote: Sean Dague wrote: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint overload. At some point there were over 150 blueprints. Many of them were a single sentence. The results of this have been that design

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Sean Dague
On 03/07/2014 06:30 AM, Thierry Carrez wrote: Sean Dague wrote: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint overload. At some point there were over 150 blueprints. Many of them were a single sentence. The results of this have been that design review today is

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Murray, Paul (HP Cloud Services)
: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval On 03/07/2014 06:30 AM, Thierry Carrez wrote: Sean Dague wrote: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint overload. At some point there were over 150 blueprints. Many of them were

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Nathanael Burton
On Mar 6, 2014 1:11 PM, Sean Dague s...@dague.net wrote: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint overload. At some point there were over 150 blueprints. Many of them were a single sentence. The results of this have been that design review today is typically not

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Steve Gordon
- Original Message - On Thu, Mar 6, 2014 at 12:05 PM, Sean Dague s...@dague.net wrote: I think this is really worthwhile to try -- and it might offer an interesting, readable history of decisions made. Plus how funny it was also brought up at the Ops Summit. Convergence, cool. It

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Sandy Walsh
Yep, great idea. Do it. On 03/07/2014 02:53 AM, Chris Behrens wrote: On Mar 6, 2014, at 11:09 AM, Russell Bryant rbry...@redhat.com wrote: […] I think a dedicated git repo for this makes sense. openstack/nova-blueprints or something, or openstack/nova-proposals if we want to be a bit less

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Doug Hellmann
On Fri, Mar 7, 2014 at 10:47 AM, Steve Gordon sgor...@redhat.com wrote: - Original Message - On Thu, Mar 6, 2014 at 12:05 PM, Sean Dague s...@dague.net wrote: I think this is really worthwhile to try -- and it might offer an interesting, readable history of decisions made. Plus

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Ben Nemec
On 2014-03-06 18:16, Christopher Yeoh wrote: On Thu, 06 Mar 2014 13:05:15 -0500 Sean Dague s...@dague.net wrote: In today's Nova meeting a new thought occurred. We already have Gerrit which is good for reviewing things. It gives you detailed commenting abilities, voting, and history. Instead of

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-07 Thread Tim Bell
- From: Murray, Paul (HP Cloud Services) [mailto:pmur...@hp.com] Sent: 07 March 2014 14:57 To: OpenStack Development Mailing List (not for usage questions) Subject: Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval The principle is excellent, I think

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-06 Thread Matt Van Winkle
Hey Sean, The number one item that came out of the Operator's mini summit on Monday was better mechanisms to engage Operators in the design and review process. Moving Blueprints to Gerrit was something discussed quite a bit. It's fantastic to hear the same thing is coming from the Nova

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-06 Thread Russell Bryant
On 03/06/2014 01:05 PM, Sean Dague wrote: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint overload. At some point there were over 150 blueprints. Many of them were a single sentence. The results of this have been that design review today is typically not happening on

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-06 Thread John Dewey
On Thursday, March 6, 2014 at 11:09 AM, Russell Bryant wrote: On 03/06/2014 01:05 PM, Sean Dague wrote: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint overload. At some point there were over 150 blueprints. Many of them were a single sentence. The results of this

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-06 Thread Christopher Yeoh
On Thu, 06 Mar 2014 13:05:15 -0500 Sean Dague s...@dague.net wrote: In today's Nova meeting a new thought occurred. We already have Gerrit which is good for reviewing things. It gives you detailed commenting abilities, voting, and history. Instead of attempting (and usually failing) on doing

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-06 Thread zhangyu (AI)
This is TRULY a constructive suggestion. Time and again people have good ideas, but fail to make them high-quality BPs, even being familiar with code base. The major reason lies in lacking of design experiences. Such a Gerrit-based design iteration will make the design and decision process

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-06 Thread ChangBo Guo
+1, we also need some work to clean existing blueprints which are not approved. I think that is responsibility for drafter of those blueprints to follow new process. 2014-03-07 2:05 GMT+08:00 Sean Dague s...@dague.net: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-06 Thread Bohai (ricky)
+1 Agree with you. I like this idea so much. It makes the blueprint review/discuss better tracked and recorded. It's convenient for the people joining later to know the design's history. -Original Message- From: Sean Dague [mailto:s...@dague.net] Sent: Friday, March 07, 2014 2:05 AM

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-06 Thread Liuji (Jeremy)
+1 Agree with you. I like this idea so much. It makes the blueprint review/discuss better tracked and recorded. It's convenient for the people joining later to know the design's history. -Original Message- From: Sean Dague [mailto:s...@dague.net] Sent: Friday, March 07, 2014 2:05 AM

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-06 Thread Anne Gentle
On Thu, Mar 6, 2014 at 12:05 PM, Sean Dague s...@dague.net wrote: One of the issues that the Nova team has definitely hit is Blueprint overload. At some point there were over 150 blueprints. Many of them were a single sentence. The results of this have been that design review today is

Re: [openstack-dev] [nova] RFC - using Gerrit for Nova Blueprint review approval

2014-03-06 Thread Chris Behrens
On Mar 6, 2014, at 11:09 AM, Russell Bryant rbry...@redhat.com wrote: […] I think a dedicated git repo for this makes sense. openstack/nova-blueprints or something, or openstack/nova-proposals if we want to be a bit less tied to launchpad terminology. +1 to this whole idea.. and we definitely