Re: [openstack-dev] What should openstack-specs review approval rules be ?

2015-02-13 Thread Flavio Percoco
On 28/01/15 14:25 +0100, Thierry Carrez wrote: Hi everyone, When we first introduced the cross-project specs (specs for things that may potentially affect all OpenStack projects, or where more convergence is desirable), we defaulted to rather simple rules for approval: - discuss the spec in a

Re: [openstack-dev] What should openstack-specs review approval rules be ?

2015-02-13 Thread Thierry Carrez
James E. Blair wrote: [...] I think in general though, it boils down to the fact that we need to answer these questions for each of the repos: A) Should the broader community register ±1 or simply comments? (Now that we may distinguish them from TC member votes.) B) Should individual

Re: [openstack-dev] What should openstack-specs review approval rules be ?

2015-02-13 Thread James E. Blair
Thierry Carrez thie...@openstack.org writes: Current Cross-Project Repo Rules ... * Only the TC chair may vote Workflow +1. My understanding is that currently, any TC member can Workflow+1 (which lead to the accidental approval of the previous spec). I

Re: [openstack-dev] What should openstack-specs review approval rules be ?

2015-02-13 Thread Doug Hellmann
On Fri, Feb 13, 2015, at 11:33 AM, James E. Blair wrote: Thierry Carrez thie...@openstack.org writes: Current Cross-Project Repo Rules ... * Only the TC chair may vote Workflow +1. My understanding is that currently, any TC member can Workflow+1

Re: [openstack-dev] What should openstack-specs review approval rules be ?

2015-02-12 Thread James E. Blair
Thierry Carrez thie...@openstack.org writes: So what is it we actually want for that repository ? In a world where Gerrit can do anything, what would you like to have ? Personally, I want our technical community in general, and our PTLs/CPLs in particular, to be able to record their opinion

Re: [openstack-dev] What should openstack-specs review approval rules be ?

2015-02-12 Thread Doug Hellmann
On Wed, Jan 28, 2015, at 08:25 AM, Thierry Carrez wrote: Hi everyone, When we first introduced the cross-project specs (specs for things that may potentially affect all OpenStack projects, or where more convergence is desirable), we defaulted to rather simple rules for approval: -

Re: [openstack-dev] What should openstack-specs review approval rules be ?

2015-01-28 Thread Morgan Fainberg
I am of the opinion that the +1/-1 from non tc members can be valuable, but similarly it would be easy to get just comments. The TC is the body I expect to help determine the direction of cross project initiatives such as the logging guidelines. As a PTL I feel confident the TC is the right body