Re: [openstack-dev] doubling our core review bandwidth

2014-09-08 Thread Steven Hardy
On Mon, Sep 08, 2014 at 03:14:24PM +1200, Robert Collins wrote: I hope the subject got your attention :). This might be a side effect of my having too many cosmic rays, but its been percolating for a bit. tl;dr I think we should drop our 'needs 2x+2 to land' rule and instead use 'needs

Re: [openstack-dev] doubling our core review bandwidth

2014-09-08 Thread Russell Bryant
On 09/08/2014 05:17 AM, Steven Hardy wrote: On Mon, Sep 08, 2014 at 03:14:24PM +1200, Robert Collins wrote: I hope the subject got your attention :). This might be a side effect of my having too many cosmic rays, but its been percolating for a bit. tl;dr I think we should drop our 'needs

Re: [openstack-dev] doubling our core review bandwidth

2014-09-08 Thread Sean Dague
On 09/08/2014 08:52 AM, Russell Bryant wrote: On 09/08/2014 05:17 AM, Steven Hardy wrote: On Mon, Sep 08, 2014 at 03:14:24PM +1200, Robert Collins wrote: I hope the subject got your attention :). This might be a side effect of my having too many cosmic rays, but its been percolating for a

Re: [openstack-dev] doubling our core review bandwidth

2014-09-08 Thread Flavio Percoco
On 09/08/2014 02:52 PM, Russell Bryant wrote: On 09/08/2014 05:17 AM, Steven Hardy wrote: On Mon, Sep 08, 2014 at 03:14:24PM +1200, Robert Collins wrote: I hope the subject got your attention :). This might be a side effect of my having too many cosmic rays, but its been percolating for a

Re: [openstack-dev] doubling our core review bandwidth

2014-09-08 Thread Alexis Lee
Sean Dague said on Mon, Sep 08, 2014 at 09:22:56AM -0400: On 09/08/2014 05:17 AM, Steven Hardy wrote: I think this may be a sensible move, but only if it's used primarily to land the less complex/risky patches more quickly. 2 +2 has been part of OpenStack culture for a long time, and

Re: [openstack-dev] doubling our core review bandwidth

2014-09-08 Thread Sean Dague
On 09/08/2014 11:07 AM, Alexis Lee wrote: Sean Dague said on Mon, Sep 08, 2014 at 09:22:56AM -0400: On 09/08/2014 05:17 AM, Steven Hardy wrote: I think this may be a sensible move, but only if it's used primarily to land the less complex/risky patches more quickly. 2 +2 has been part of

Re: [openstack-dev] doubling our core review bandwidth

2014-09-08 Thread Kevin L. Mitchell
tl;dr I think we should drop our 'needs 2x+2 to land' rule and instead use 'needs 1x+2'. We can ease up a large chunk of pressure on our review bottleneck, with the only significant negative being that core reviewers may see less of the code going into the system - but they can always read

Re: [openstack-dev] doubling our core review bandwidth

2014-09-08 Thread Zane Bitter
On 07/09/14 23:43, Morgan Fainberg wrote: ## avoiding collaboration between bad actors The two core requirement means that it takes three people (proposer + 2 core) to collaborate on landing something inappropriate (whether its half baked, a misfeature, whatever). Thats only 50% harder than 2

Re: [openstack-dev] doubling our core review bandwidth

2014-09-07 Thread Angus Salkeld
On Mon, Sep 8, 2014 at 1:14 PM, Robert Collins robe...@robertcollins.net wrote: I hope the subject got your attention :). This might be a side effect of my having too many cosmic rays, but its been percolating for a bit. tl;dr I think we should drop our 'needs 2x+2 to land' rule and instead

Re: [openstack-dev] doubling our core review bandwidth

2014-09-07 Thread Morgan Fainberg
Responses in-line. -Original Message- From: Robert Collins robe...@robertcollins.net Reply: OpenStack Development Mailing List (not for usage questions) openstack-dev@lists.openstack.org Date: September 7, 2014 at 20:16:32 To: OpenStack Development Mailing List