Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-04-15 Thread Määttänen Kirsti
.” Gene Halton From: C S Peirce discussion list [mailto:PEIRCE-L@LISTSERV.IUPUI.EDU] On Behalf Of Catherine Legg Sent: Sunday, March 25, 2012 9:42 PM To: PEIRCE-L@LISTSERV.IUPUI.EDU Subject: Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism Tom that is a great

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-27 Thread Jon Awbrey
A Facebook acquaintance posted this on my wall ... Bakhtin Meets Pocahontas -- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GITVPh7GVSE Cheers, Jon -- academia: http://independent.academia.edu/JonAwbrey inquiry list: http://stderr.org/pipermail/inquiry/ mwb: http://www.mywikibiz.com/Directory:Jon_Awbrey

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review • “Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism”

2012-03-26 Thread Jon Awbrey
Peircers, Yet another attack of synchronicity -- I just now happened to be working on the markup of some old work and I ran across this bit where I was trying to puzzle out a sensible picture of how the normative science fit together within a pragmatic perspective on their objects. |

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-26 Thread Eugene Halton
and otherwise, gradually replaces the spontaneous energy that sustains them. Gene Halton From: C S Peirce discussion list [mailto:PEIRCE-L@LISTSERV.IUPUI.EDU] On Behalf Of Catherine Legg Sent: Sunday, March 25, 2012 9:42 PM To: PEIRCE-L@LISTSERV.IUPUI.EDU Subject: Re: [peirce-l] Book Review

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-25 Thread Catherine Legg
On Fri, Mar 23, 2012 at 9:23 AM, Gary Richmond gary.richm...@gmail.comwrote: I want to conclude this note with a passage near the end of the book which I very much liked and have been reflecting on since. Forster writes: On [Peirce's] view, human beings are not cogs in a vast cosmic

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-25 Thread Gary Richmond
Terry, Gene, Jon, List, Methinks that you are quite correct, Terry, about reasonableness in Peirce being centered on the social principle, and not just for science. Critical commonsense ought play a significant role in all our endeavors in Peirce's view. And Gene, while I enjoy the passion of

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-23 Thread Stephen C. Rose
Here is a somewhat corrected version of my reply to Terry. Best, S I have little place for ethics in such a system as I have. I see ethics as secondary to the willed application of values to the making of decisions. To me the question is what are the ontological values. My pragmatic answer came

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-22 Thread Stephen C. Rose
PM To: PEIRCE-L@LISTSERV.IUPUI.EDU Subject: Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism Michael I just read the book review from Nathan Houser you shared - it is lucidly written over 6 pages and gives a commanding overview of Peirce's realism. I really enjoyed

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-22 Thread Terry Bristol
A couple of comments on this passage from Forster and relating to S. Rose's response: 1. The 'plan' by which the universal intelligence works is not a 'fixed' or time(-space)-invariant 'plan'; (cf. likewise in Plato's Timaeus). There is no way to reason forward to 'deduce' a better world

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-22 Thread Stephen C. Rose
It seems to me that if there is a conflict between nominalism and realism/idealism which plays out in history that it is important to delve deeper. Peirce made spiritual or transcendent or musement matters subject to experiment - human progress had to be real. Where I think I disagree is in not

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-22 Thread Terry Bristol
Stephen – Your points are well taken. Might we say that we 'know' the eternal good by our very nature without being able to articulate it or convince others 'rationally'. I am a little unclear what you mean by 'ethics' here. I guess I must side with Nietzsche and Royce (and Rorty) here and

Re: [peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-13 Thread Catherine Legg
Michael I just read the book review from Nathan Houser you shared - it is lucidly written over 6 pages and gives a commanding overview of Peirce's realism. I really enjoyed reading it, thanks for posting it. Cathy On Fri, Mar 9, 2012 at 6:13 PM, Michael DeLaurentis michael...@comcast.netwrote:

[peirce-l] Book Review: Peirce and the Threat of Nominalism

2012-03-08 Thread Michael DeLaurentis
If there has already been a post about this, my apologies. Book review just in on CSP and nominalism. Michael J DeLaurentis - You are receiving this message because you are subscribed to the PEIRCE-L