Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-07-28 Thread Tom Lane
Daniel Gustafsson writes: > On 27 Jul 2017, at 19:40, Tom Lane wrote: >> listTables and listDbRoleSettings print a custom message rather than >> an empty table for no matches (but in QUIET mode they just do the >> latter). I think that's actually a good

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-07-28 Thread Daniel Gustafsson
> On 27 Jul 2017, at 19:40, Tom Lane wrote: > > Daniel Gustafsson writes: >>> On 19 Jun 2017, at 17:32, Tom Lane wrote: >>> So, if we're getting into enforcing consistency in describe.c, there's >>> lots to do. > >> Addressed in

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-07-27 Thread Tom Lane
Daniel Gustafsson writes: >> On 19 Jun 2017, at 17:32, Tom Lane wrote: >> So, if we're getting into enforcing consistency in describe.c, there's >> lots to do. > Addressed in attached patch, see list of patches below. I've pushed most of this. There are a

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-06-26 Thread Daniel Gustafsson
> On 19 Jun 2017, at 17:32, Tom Lane wrote: > > So, if we're getting into enforcing consistency in describe.c, there's > lots to do. > > * listDbRoleSettings does this for a server too old to have the desired > feature: > > fprintf(pset.queryFout, >

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-06-19 Thread Tom Lane
"David G. Johnston" writes: > On Mon, Jun 19, 2017 at 2:53 PM, Tom Lane wrote: >> Where are you reading that? > https://www.postgresql.org/docs/9.6/static/app-psql.html > First sentence: > "For each relation (table, view, index, sequence, or

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-06-19 Thread David G. Johnston
On Mon, Jun 19, 2017 at 2:53 PM, Tom Lane wrote: > "David G. Johnston" writes: >> The docs also indicate that we don't include materialized views as >> part of "\d" which seems like an oversight somewhere. > > Where are you reading that?

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-06-19 Thread Tom Lane
"David G. Johnston" writes: > The docs also indicate that we don't include materialized views as > part of "\d" which seems like an oversight somewhere. Where are you reading that? Experimentation shows that "\d" does include matviews, and that matches the code,

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-06-19 Thread David G. Johnston
On Mon, Jun 19, 2017 at 2:25 PM, Peter Eisentraut wrote: > On 6/19/17 09:00, Oleksandr Shulgin wrote: >> I wonder if it is intentional that \d complains on stderr if it cannot >> find relations to match, but \dt prints the message to the current >> output file?

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-06-19 Thread Tom Lane
Peter Eisentraut writes: > On 6/19/17 09:00, Oleksandr Shulgin wrote: >> postgres=# \d xxx >> Did not find any relation named "xxx". >> postgres=# \dt xxx >> No matching relations found. > I think this is intentional. > The first command is "show me relation

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-06-19 Thread Peter Eisentraut
On 6/19/17 09:00, Oleksandr Shulgin wrote: > I wonder if it is intentional that \d complains on stderr if it cannot > find relations to match, but \dt prints the message to the current > output file? > > postgres=# \d xxx > Did not find any relation named "xxx". > postgres=# \dt xxx > No matching

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-06-19 Thread Tom Lane
Dilip Kumar writes: > On Mon, Jun 19, 2017 at 6:30 PM, Oleksandr Shulgin > wrote: >> I think can be helpful, though rarely, to be able to send the output of \d* >> commands to a file. At the same time it would be nice to see the message on >>

Re: [HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-06-19 Thread Dilip Kumar
On Mon, Jun 19, 2017 at 6:30 PM, Oleksandr Shulgin wrote: > I think can be helpful, though rarely, to be able to send the output of \d* > commands to a file. At the same time it would be nice to see the message on > stderr instead of appending to the output file, in

[HACKERS] psql's \d and \dt are sending their complaints to different output files

2017-06-19 Thread Oleksandr Shulgin
Hello Hackers, I wonder if it is intentional that \d complains on stderr if it cannot find relations to match, but \dt prints the message to the current output file? postgres=# \d xxx Did not find any relation named "xxx". postgres=# \dt xxx No matching relations found. I've noticed the