Re: [HACKERS] [Review] Include detailed information about a row failing a CHECK constraint into the error message

2011-11-29 Thread Tom Lane
Royce Ausburn royce...@inomial.com writes: One comment I have on the output is that strings are not in quotes. It's a little jarring, but might not be that big a deal. A contrived case that is pretty confusing: test=# insert into test select 1, 2, '3, 4', 4; ERROR: new row for

Re: [HACKERS] [Review] Include detailed information about a row failing a CHECK constraint into the error message

2011-11-29 Thread Jan Kundrát
On 11/29/11 18:51, Tom Lane wrote: In short, I'm inclined to go ahead and apply this patch, after a bit of cleanup to make it match our house style better and not break multibyte characters. Thanks a lot (and sorry for being lazy and not having updated the test cases yet). With kind regards,

Re: [HACKERS] [Review] Include detailed information about a row failing a CHECK constraint into the error message

2011-11-23 Thread Robert Haas
On Mon, Nov 21, 2011 at 8:59 AM, Jan Kundrát j...@flaska.net wrote: What is the suggested way to go form here? Shall I update the unit tests? Yes. -- Robert Haas EnterpriseDB: http://www.enterprisedb.com The Enterprise PostgreSQL Company -- Sent via pgsql-hackers mailing list

Re: [HACKERS] [Review] Include detailed information about a row failing a CHECK constraint into the error message

2011-11-21 Thread Jan Kundrát
On 11/16/11 23:13, Royce Ausburn wrote: The patch fails the regression tests because it is outputting new DETAIL line which four of tests aren't expecting. The tests will need to be updated. Hi Royce, thanks for your time which you've put into this review. What is the suggested way to go

Re: [HACKERS] [Review] Include detailed information about a row failing a CHECK constraint into the error message

2011-11-21 Thread Tom Lane
=?UTF-8?B?SmFuIEt1bmRyw6F0?= j...@flaska.net writes: On 11/16/11 23:13, Royce Ausburn wrote: Another super minor thing, postgres doesn't seem to put periods at the end of log messages, yet this new detail line does. Again, I'm not familiar with the correct procedure. Shall I send a revised

[HACKERS] [Review] Include detailed information about a row failing a CHECK constraint into the error message

2011-11-16 Thread Royce Ausburn
The patch applies cleanly to the current git master and is in context diff format.The patch fails the regression tests because it is outputting new DETAIL line which four of tests aren't expecting. The tests will need to be updated.Functionality:The patch works as advertised. An insert or update