Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-07-19 Thread Stephen Gallagher
On 07/08/2010 07:17 AM, Stephen Gallagher wrote: On 07/07/2010 06:04 PM, Christian Hammond wrote: Do you happen to have the raw profiling log file too? I want to see the SQL queries as well. There were some heavy optimizations made in Djblets for the datagrid rendering, but I'm not sure

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-07-19 Thread Christian Hammond
Hi Stephen, Sorry, I missed the e-mail where you attached the profile log. I'm looking through it now. The render_to_response was misleading. The slowdown is actually within precompute_objects, which does some database queries. That primarily does database queries, but the SQL logs show that

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-07-19 Thread Stephen Gallagher
On 07/19/2010 03:00 PM, Christian Hammond wrote: Hi Stephen, Sorry, I missed the e-mail where you attached the profile log. I'm looking through it now. The render_to_response was misleading. The slowdown is actually within precompute_objects, which does some database queries. That primarily

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-07-19 Thread Christian Hammond
There is one query in the list that happens twice and takes 0.352s on average each time. That's the query to get the auth info from the Fedora auth backend. I don't know why it'd be so slow, but it might also point to an issue in talking to the database. Christian -- Christian Hammond -

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-07-19 Thread Stephen Gallagher
On 07/19/2010 03:12 PM, Christian Hammond wrote: Can you verify that the settings_local.py in Review Board and the settings.py in other Django sites are using the exact same database backend? Are all the sites running on the same server? The logs you provided show a lag of ~2 seconds rather

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-07-07 Thread Stephen Gallagher
On 06/12/2010 03:39 AM, Christian Hammond wrote: Hmm, it might be due to not having cProfile installed? Does the reviewboard.log show anything? Christian -- Christian Hammond - chip...@chipx86.com mailto:chip...@chipx86.com Review Board - http://www.reviewboard.org VMware, Inc. -

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-06-11 Thread Stephen Gallagher
On 06/10/2010 03:24 PM, Christian Hammond wrote: Hi Stephen, We're running on MySQL. I don't know why you'd be seeing such a huge delay with PostgreSQL though. Can you tell me which pages are showing delays? (Is it all of them?) if it's the dashboard, there are some known slowdowns when

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-06-10 Thread Jan Koprowski
It is probably between SQLite and PostgreSQL. But this is delay is proportional to scalable. SQLite is not scalable at all, PostgreSQL is most scalable free SQL database. On Jun 9, 9:39 pm, Stephen Gallagher step...@gallagherhome.com wrote: I'm curious, what database is

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-06-10 Thread Stephen Gallagher
Well, right now 4-8s for a page refresh is just barely within the tolerable limits of my users. I'm trying to determine whether it makes more sense to migrate to MySQL (if it would be better performance) I was also curious whether ReviewBoard's reference implementation was running on

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-06-10 Thread Christian Hammond
Hi Stephen, We're running on MySQL. I don't know why you'd be seeing such a huge delay with PostgreSQL though. Can you tell me which pages are showing delays? (Is it all of them?) if it's the dashboard, there are some known slowdowns when reaching large numbers of review requests. If the diff

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-06-10 Thread Stephen Gallagher
On 06/10/2010 03:24 PM, Christian Hammond wrote: Hi Stephen, We're running on MySQL. I don't know why you'd be seeing such a huge delay with PostgreSQL though. Can you tell me which pages are showing delays? (Is it all of them?) Yeah, it's every page but the login page. That includes the

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-06-10 Thread Jan Koprowski
You can check Your efficient of memcached caching. This could be critical. Read about getting statistic from memcached: http://code.sixapart.com/svn/memcached/trunk/server/doc/protocol.txt this is the fastest element of ReviewBoard. If You still belive this is database engine bottle neck here is

Re: ReviewBoard example instance

2010-06-10 Thread David Trowbridge
The reviews.reviewboard.org server is running under mysql. We've done a little tuning but not much. I haven't tried with pgsql at all, personally. -David On Jun 10, 2010, at 11:56 AM, Stephen Gallagher step...@gallagherhome.com wrote: Well, right now 4-8s for a page refresh is just