Re: gitolite and ReviewBoard

2011-11-15 Thread Heidi Schmidt
I've got a similar issue on Windows using Git bash. I'm hoping that the repository does not need to be nfs mounted to the review board. Git ls -remote works $ git ls-remote From redacted@gitolite.hubteam.com:/puppet.git 91ef4590b8c61b7d07ed3c3cfaf2b21b7c38db02HEAD

Re: gitolite and ReviewBoard

2011-11-14 Thread humble
Thanks Christian. Adrian and I found out that the SSH key works fine. The problem was that when RB checks the validity of the repo (GitClient.is_valid_repository) it actually does Popen in core.py to run a command 'git ls-remote u...@mydomain.com:/repo.git HEAD', however, the child process doesn't

Re: gitolite and ReviewBoard

2011-11-08 Thread adrian
I have no doubt that the .reviweboardrc mechanism will make post- review work... but it's still a work-around to the actual problem. It is kind of cumbersome to have to rely on NFS plus the .reviewboardrc. We would rather connect directly via ssh:// but we can't get this to work properly.

Re: gitolite and ReviewBoard

2011-11-08 Thread Christian Hammond
You still need .reviewboardrc so post-review knows which server to talk to in the first place. It's actually the recommended setup. You shouldn't have to rely on NFS. Looking over your previous e-mail, I noticed the ssh:// URL. Git actually doesn't use this format. Rather, if you just do

Re: gitolite and ReviewBoard

2011-11-04 Thread Michał Muszyński
Hi, As far as I know, Gitolite requires SSH keys and ReviewBoard doesn't support that type of connection to Git repositories. In my company, we had to export Git repositories via NFS to the machine with ReviewBoard hosting. And then, in ReviewBoard's configuration we had to specify a path to the

Re: gitolite and ReviewBoard

2011-11-04 Thread Maciek Borzecki
I'm not sure if SSH access is even supposed to work. From technical standpoint it might not be welcome after all, given that misconfiguration might expose ssh keys. The access methods that always worked flawlessly for me are exporting repositories over http and direct file access. I wouldn't

Re: gitolite and ReviewBoard

2011-11-04 Thread Christian Hammond
SSH is supposed to work. We use it (for repo verification, though you still need the cgit, etc. method for getting files). You'd need to go into RB and generate a new SSH key and then configure it for access on the git server. Should in theory work then. Christian On Friday, November 4, 2011,

Re: gitolite and ReviewBoard

2011-11-04 Thread adrian
On Nov 4, 11:16 am, Christian Hammond chip...@chipx86.com wrote: SSH is supposed to work. We use it (for repo verification, though you still need the cgit, etc. method for getting files). You'd need to go into RB and generate a new SSH key and then configure it for access on the git server.

Re: gitolite and ReviewBoard

2011-11-04 Thread adrian
Hello again -- We just tried using the NFS method suggested by Maciek. While ReviewBoard is happy with this configuration, it breaks post- review. The post-review tool uses origin.url and ReviewBoard complains that this repository does not exist. Because of this, it's not really a workable