rbtools behavior with git branches

2014-08-12 Thread Greg Burcher
Having read the available documentation regarding using rbtools and git, I am still trying to understand how git reviews are working with our git branching strategy. Some things are not working as we expect. We have a primary git repository origin/master. We have created a clone repository of

Re: rbtools behavior with git branches

2014-08-12 Thread Christian Hammond
Hi Greg, Which version of RBTools are you guys using? Try setting the following in .reviewboardrc:     TRACKING_BRANCH = ‘origin/master’ That will ensure that, by default, rbt post will base commits off of origin/master. The important thing is making sure that developers are actually using

Re: rbtools behavior with git branches

2014-08-12 Thread Greg Burcher
We had BRANCH = master in the .reviewboardrc, but no setting for TRACKING_BRANCH. The rbtools documentation says this: --tracking-branch https://www.reviewboard.org/docs/rbtools/dev/rbt/commands/post/#cmdoption-rbt-post--tracking-branch Tracking branch from which your branch is derived (git

Re: rbtools behavior with git branches

2014-08-12 Thread Greg Burcher
forgot to show our rbtools version: $ rbt --version RBTools 0.6 -- Get the Review Board Power Pack at http://www.reviewboard.org/powerpack/ --- Sign up for Review Board hosting at RBCommons: https://rbcommons.com/ --- Happy user? Let us know at http://www.reviewboard.org/users/ --- You

Re: rbtools behavior with git branches

2014-08-12 Thread Greg Burcher
Also, all devs use origin for the central repo. On Tuesday, August 12, 2014 3:58:42 PM UTC-4, Greg Burcher wrote: forgot to show our rbtools version: $ rbt --version RBTools 0.6 -- Get the Review Board Power Pack at http://www.reviewboard.org/powerpack/ --- Sign up for Review Board

Re: rbtools behavior with git branches

2014-08-12 Thread Greg Burcher
So I just tried this out. I believe TRACKING_BRANCH defaults to origin/currentBranch instead of origin/master as documented on the rbtools page. That would explain the behavior that we were seeing when we did not specify TRACKING_BRANCH. Pushing to the remote branch on origin caused there to

Re: rbtools behavior with git branches

2014-08-12 Thread David Trowbridge
The BRANCH/--branch settings just fill in the Branch field on the review request. -David On Tue, Aug 12, 2014 at 12:57 PM, Greg Burcher gregburc...@gmail.com wrote: We had BRANCH = master in the .reviewboardrc, but no setting for TRACKING_BRANCH. The rbtools documentation says this:

Re: rbtools behavior with git branches

2014-08-12 Thread Matthew Woehlke
On 2014-08-12 16:39, Greg Burcher wrote: I also removed the BRANCH setting from .reviewboardrc. This only seems to change the branch value displayed in the review header area. Is there any other behavior associated with the BRANCH setting? Why can't rbtools determine the current git branch