Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-16 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Paul, On Thu, 16 Apr 2020 10:59:28 -0400 GMT (16-Apr-20, 21:59 +0700 GMT), Paul Van Noord wrote: > 4/16/2020 10:41 AM > Hi Thomas, > On 4/15/2020 Thomas Fernandez wrote: TF>> Hello Paul, TF>> On Wed, 15 Apr 2020 11:17:14 -0400 GMT (15-Apr-20, 22:17 +0700 GMT), TF>> Paul Van Noord

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-16 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Andrew, On Thu, 16 Apr 2020 20:11:14 +0930 GMT (16-Apr-20, 17:41 +0700 GMT), Andrew Savchenko wrote: >> This is getting off-topic. Anyway, I am not a beta tester for Windows, >> and the update is automatic. I am not following the Win10 version >> numbers and never had a desire to go back

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-16 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Andrew, On Thu, 16 Apr 2020 19:23:49 +0930 GMT (16-Apr-20, 16:53 +0700 GMT), Andrew Savchenko wrote: > Hello Thomas, > Thursday, April 16, 2020, 10:40:58 AM, you wrote: >> There is never a reason for someone who is not a beta tester to >> download any beta version. >> Once the release

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-15 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Paul, On Wed, 15 Apr 2020 11:17:14 -0400 GMT (15-Apr-20, 22:17 +0700 GMT), Paul Van Noord wrote: There will have been a reason for that, don't you think? >>> Isn't the Beta usually taken down when Ritlabs issues a new Beta >>> or release version? TF>> That's correct. It has become

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-15 Thread MAU
Hello Paul, > There have been multiple occasions in the past where a given beta caused > problems for me requiring me to go to a previous version. This is why I > keep copies of all acceptable betas. "Latest and greatest" are not > synonymous! While I see your point and kind of a agree

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-14 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello MFPA, On Tue, 14 Apr 2020 16:26:49 +0100 GMT (14-Apr-20, 22:26 +0700 GMT), MFPA wrote: > On Tuesday 14 April 2020 at 12:43:19 PM, in > , Thomas Fernandez wrote:- >> There will have been a reason for that, don't you think? > Isn't the Beta usually taken down when Ritlabs issues a new

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-14 Thread MFPA
Hi On Tuesday 14 April 2020 at 12:43:19 PM, in , Thomas Fernandez wrote:- > There will have been a reason for that, don't you think? Isn't the Beta usually taken down when Ritlabs issues a new Beta or release version? -- Best regards MFPA

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-14 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Thomas, On Mon, 13 Apr 2020 23:08:09 +0700 GMT (13-Apr-20, 23:08 +0700 GMT), Thomas Fernandez wrote: TF>>> Anyway, I have never used command line parameters. I just added that TF>>> parameter in the shortcut (with and without blank after ...exe) but TF>>> Windows complains. What should I

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-14 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Andrew, On Tue, 14 Apr 2020 21:03:04 +0930 GMT (14-Apr-20, 18:33 +0700 GMT), Andrew Savchenko wrote: >> Good to hear. Don't download from unauthrotised sites. [...] > v8.8.9.12 files were removed from RT's website, that is the only reason I > have provided those links. There will have

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-14 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Luca, On Tue, 14 Apr 2020 12:20:31 +0200 GMT (14-Apr-20, 17:20 +0700 GMT), Luca via TBUDL wrote: > Andrew Savchenko: >> Hello Paul, >> >> Friday, April 10, 2020, 7:43:01 AM, you wrote: >> >> >>> I'm comfy with the late v.8, I would appreciate very much if I could >> >>> downgrade >> >>>

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-13 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Thomas, On Mon, 13 Apr 2020 23:08:09 +0700 GMT (13-Apr-20, 23:08 +0700 GMT), Thomas Fernandez wrote: TF>>> Anyway, I have never used command line parameters. I just added that TF>>> parameter in the shortcut (with and without blank after ...exe) but TF>>> Windows complains. What should I

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-13 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello David, On Mon, 13 Apr 2020 09:57:44 -0600 GMT (13-Apr-20, 22:57 +0700 GMT), David Shepherd wrote: > Monday, April 13, 2020, 9:39:36 AM, you wrote: TF>> Anyway, I have never used command line parameters. I just added that TF>> parameter in the shortcut (with and without blank after ...exe)

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-13 Thread David Shepherd
Monday, April 13, 2020, 9:39:36 AM, you wrote: TF> Anyway, I have never used command line parameters. I just added that TF> parameter in the shortcut (with and without blank after ...exe) but TF> Windows complains. What should I do? Hello Thomas, This one worked for me: "C:\Program

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-13 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello MFPA, On Mon, 13 Apr 2020 14:41:35 +0100 GMT (13-Apr-20, 20:41 +0700 GMT), MFPA wrote: > On Sunday 12 April 2020 at 3:39:44 AM, in > , Thomas Fernandez wrote:- >> Interesting, because my error message mentions avast: >>>[...] >>>12-Apr-20, 09:31:04: FETCH - Issuer: generated by >>>avast!

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-13 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello MFPA, On Mon, 13 Apr 2020 15:48:02 +0100 GMT (13-Apr-20, 21:48 +0700 GMT), MFPA wrote: > On Monday 13 April 2020 at 2:41:35 PM, in > , MFPA wrote:- > Never mind what else I wrote. I have a gmail account I rarely use. I > checked incoming mail and got the "certificate cannot be used for

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-13 Thread MFPA
Hi On Monday 13 April 2020 at 2:41:35 PM, in , MFPA wrote:- > Hi Never mind what else I wrote. I have a gmail account I rarely use. I checked incoming mail and got the "certificate cannot be used for this purpose" error message. The solution that has worked for me for the last ten minutes

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-13 Thread MFPA
Hi On Sunday 12 April 2020 at 3:39:44 AM, in , Thomas Fernandez wrote:- > Interesting, because my error message mentions avast: >>[...] >>12-Apr-20, 09:31:04: FETCH - Issuer: generated by >>avast! antivirus for SSL/TLS scanning, avast! Web/Mail >>Shield, avast! Web/Mail Shield Root. Avast

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems (Gmail)

2020-04-12 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Assad, On Sun, 12 Apr 2020 13:25:24 +0400 GMT (12-Apr-20, 16:25 +0700 GMT), Assad Baroot wrote: >>> Maxim wrote this in the list of changes in version 9.1.10: >>> >>> [-] The Bat! did require "Key Encipherment" or "Key Agreement" in >>> "Key Usage" certificate attribute for TLS

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-12 Thread Avram Sacks
I am coming late to this "party," having been offline since April 8. I use The Bat for 18 e-mail accounts: 5 private domains, a dormant Yahoo account, and 12 Gmail accounts. Beginning April 7 I have been unable to send mail from any of the Gmail accounts. The error message is "The server

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-12 Thread MAU
Hello Thomas, > What antivirus software do you use? I don't use any antivirus plug-in specific for TB. As a general purpose one I use ESET-NOD32 -- Best regards, Miguel A. Urech (Els Poblets (Alicante) - Spain) Using The Bat! v9.1.12.1 (BETA)

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-12 Thread MAU
Hello Assad, > Maxim wrote this in the list of changes in version 9.1.10: > > [-] The Bat! did require "Key Encipherment" or "Key Agreement" in > "Key Usage" certificate attribute for TLS even if the certificate > was only used to sign ephemeral keys to provide perfect forward >

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-11 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello MAU, On Sat, 11 Apr 2020 18:00:34 +0200 GMT (11-Apr-20, 23:00 +0700 GMT), MAU wrote: > Hello Thomas, >> I still believe it is caused by avast, though. > I experienced the intermittent certificate problems a few day ago, and > I have never ever used Avast. Interesting, because my error

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-11 Thread Maggie Meister
Hi MAU and Thomas On Saturday, April 11, 2020 at 12:00:34 PM you wrote: M> Hello Thomas, M> I experienced the intermittent certificate problems a few day ago, and M> I have never ever used Avast. If it is not avast, then can it be assumed that the problem is either the Host or TB!? --

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-11 Thread Susanne
Hello, Saturday, April 11, 2020, 9:00:34 AM, MAU wrote: > I experienced the intermittent certificate problems a few day ago, and > I have never ever used Avast. Same here. -- Best regards, Susannemailto:sisk...@gmail.com Using The Bat! 9.1.12 OS: Windows 10.0

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-11 Thread MAU
Hello Thomas, > I still believe it is caused by avast, though. I experienced the intermittent certificate problems a few day ago, and I have never ever used Avast. -- Best regards, Miguel A. Urech (Els Poblets (Alicante) - Spain) Using The Bat! v9.1.12.1 (BETA)

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-11 Thread Maggie Meister
Hi Thomas, On Friday, April 10, 2020 at 11:53:17 PM you wrote: <...> TF> FWIW, I have two gmail accouints, one uses the servers gmail.com and TF> the other googlemail.com. The problem is not intermittent any more, TF> but it is now reliably producable on both computers: >>11-Apr-20, 10:49:02:

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-11 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Andrew, On Sat, 11 Apr 2020 20:55:12 +0930 GMT (11-Apr-20, 18:25 +0700 GMT), Andrew Savchenko wrote: > Hello Thomas, > Saturday, April 11, 2020, 8:35:35 PM, you wrote: >> There are newer betas... ;-) > of v8? Please share. Why would you want a beta version of v8? What would be better

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-11 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Andrew, On Sat, 11 Apr 2020 14:12:38 +0930 GMT (11-Apr-20, 11:42 +0700 GMT), Andrew Savchenko wrote: > Hello Thomas, > Saturday, April 11, 2020, 1:58:28 PM, you wrote: >> Why would you want to download an old beta version? > Because newer "release" version is not production ready. Check

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-10 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Andrew, On Sat, 11 Apr 2020 13:43:13 +0930 GMT (11-Apr-20, 11:13 +0700 GMT), Andrew Savchenko wrote: > Saturday, April 11, 2020, 1:19:35 PM, you wrote: >> May I suggest to not download beta versions from any unauthorised >> sites. If you want to use beta versions, please become a member

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-10 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Andrew, On Fri, 10 Apr 2020 11:56:59 +0930 GMT (10-Apr-20, 9:26 +0700 GMT), Andrew Savchenko wrote: > Hello Paul, > Friday, April 10, 2020, 7:43:01 AM, you wrote: I'm comfy with the late v.8, I would appreciate very much if I could downgrade and keep on with that while

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-10 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Thomas, On Fri, 10 Apr 2020 11:10:02 +0700 GMT (10-Apr-20, 11:10 +0700 GMT), Thomas Fernandez wrote: > Hello Thomas, > On Fri, 10 Apr 2020 10:59:30 +0700 GMT (10-Apr-20, 10:59 +0700 GMT), > Thomas Fernandez wrote: >> Hello Maxim, >> On Thu, 9 Apr 2020 16:17:04 +0300 GMT (09-Apr-20,

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-10 Thread Susanne
Hello, Thursday, April 9, 2020, 7:26:59 PM, Andrew wrote: > Latest v8 beta available in public: > https://mega.nz/file/JktHDQDT#zki2R-F6loABaYNkKeVa_H5nPtPt4Wg9QaMEUDH9KSk > http://uploaded.net/file/gvpoinfr Does this version not have the certificate problem, or the customization troubles?

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-09 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Thomas, On Fri, 10 Apr 2020 10:59:30 +0700 GMT (10-Apr-20, 10:59 +0700 GMT), Thomas Fernandez wrote: > Hello Maxim, > On Thu, 9 Apr 2020 16:17:04 +0300 GMT (09-Apr-20, 20:17 +0700 GMT), > Maxim Masiutin via TBUDL wrote: >> Thursday, April 9, 2020, 4:11:08 PM, you wrote: >>> Yes I did,

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-09 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Maxim, On Thu, 9 Apr 2020 16:17:04 +0300 GMT (09-Apr-20, 20:17 +0700 GMT), Maxim Masiutin via TBUDL wrote: > Thursday, April 9, 2020, 4:11:08 PM, you wrote: >> Yes I did, and restarted the computer. >> Program version 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.567) >> However, I just switched the

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-09 Thread Susanne
Hello, Thursday, April 9, 2020, 10:27:36 AM, Luca wrote: > I'm comfy with the late v.8, I would appreciate very much if I could downgrade > and keep on with that while v.9 grows mature. I wholeheartedly agree! The customization, where even available, doesn't stick. It reverts back to the

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-09 Thread Luca via TBUDL
Maxim Masiutin via TBUDL: > Will release an updated MSI within a few hours. I just installed Voyager 9.1.10.1, problem with Gmail is gone, but... is there another way to cope with this recurrent problem? I wouldn't update right now, I think v.9 is not ready. All my personal buttons on the

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-09 Thread Maxim Masiutin via TBUDL
Hello Thomas, Thursday, April 9, 2020, 4:11:08 PM, you wrote: > Yes I did, and restarted the computer. > Program version 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.567) > However, I just switched the servers back to googlemail.com and now > there is no problem. I'll watch it, as it was also intermittent in the

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-09 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Thomas, On Thu, 9 Apr 2020 20:11:08 +0700 GMT (09-Apr-20, 20:11 +0700 GMT), Thomas Fernandez wrote: > Hello Maxim, > On Thu, 9 Apr 2020 15:49:58 +0300 GMT (09-Apr-20, 19:49 +0700 GMT), > Maxim Masiutin via TBUDL wrote: >> Hello Thomas, >> Thursday, April 9, 2020, 2:44:31 PM, you wrote:

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-09 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Maxim, On Thu, 9 Apr 2020 15:49:58 +0300 GMT (09-Apr-20, 19:49 +0700 GMT), Maxim Masiutin via TBUDL wrote: > Hello Thomas, > Thursday, April 9, 2020, 2:44:31 PM, you wrote: >>>09-Apr-20, 18:37:07: FETCH - Issuer: generated by avast! antivirus for >>>SSL/TLS scanning, avast! Web/Mail

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-09 Thread Maxim Masiutin via TBUDL
Hello Thomas, Thursday, April 9, 2020, 2:44:31 PM, you wrote: >>09-Apr-20, 18:37:07: FETCH - Issuer: generated by avast! antivirus for >>SSL/TLS scanning, avast! Web/Mail Shield, avast! Web/Mail Shield Root. > !09-Apr-20, 18:37:08: FETCH - TLS protocol error: Internal error >

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-09 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Luca, On Thu, 09 Apr 2020 13:13:36 +0200 GMT (09-Apr-20, 18:13 +0700 GMT), Luca via TBUDL wrote: >> >> > starting today, I have intermittent problems sending emails in one >> >> > account (so far). >> >> > Error message in the log is TLS handshake failure. Invalid server >> >> >

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-09 Thread Luca via TBUDL
Thomas Fernandez: > Hello Luca, > > On Wed, 08 Apr 2020 12:07:30 +0200 GMT (08-Apr-20, 17:07 +0700 GMT), > Luca via TBUDL wrote: > > > Thomas Fernandez: > > >> Hello Susanne, > >> > >> On Tue, 7 Apr 2020 14:04:34 -0700 GMT (08-Apr-20, 4:04 +0700 GMT), > >> Susanne wrote: > >> > >> > starting

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-08 Thread Susanne
Hello, Wednesday, April 8, 2020, 6:58:09 AM, Maxim wrote: > Will release an updated MSI within a few hours. I've installed the new version and can now send mail again! Thanks! A new problem: I can't configure the status bar at all. Used to have a button for "reply to all quoting selected text)

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-08 Thread Susanne
Hello, Wednesday, April 8, 2020, 3:07:30 AM, Luca wrote: > It doesn't work. Same problem here with IMAP. Same here. Still intermittent problems, with or without changing to googlemail. One account only, so far. -- Best regards, Susannemailto:sisk...@gmail.com

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-08 Thread Maxim Masiutin via TBUDL
Will release an updated MSI within a few hours. Current version is 8.0.18 | 'Using TBUDL' information: http://www.silverstones.com/thebat/TBUDLInfo.html

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-08 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Luca, On Wed, 08 Apr 2020 12:07:30 +0200 GMT (08-Apr-20, 17:07 +0700 GMT), Luca via TBUDL wrote: > Thomas Fernandez: >> Hello Susanne, >> >> On Tue, 7 Apr 2020 14:04:34 -0700 GMT (08-Apr-20, 4:04 +0700 GMT), >> Susanne wrote: >> >> > starting today, I have intermittent problems sending

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-08 Thread Luca via TBUDL
Thomas Fernandez: > Hello Susanne, > > On Tue, 7 Apr 2020 14:04:34 -0700 GMT (08-Apr-20, 4:04 +0700 GMT), > Susanne wrote: > > > starting today, I have intermittent problems sending emails in one > > account (so far). > > Error message in the log is TLS handshake failure. Invalid server >

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-08 Thread MAU
Hello Susanne, > starting today, I have intermittent problems sending emails in one account > (so far). > Error message in the log is TLS handshake failure. Invalid server > certificate (The certificate cannot be used for this purpose). I observed the same thing yesterday,

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-07 Thread Susanne
Hello, Tuesday, April 7, 2020, 5:19:10 PM, Thomas wrote: > Did you try this solution (from the website you linked): No, I haven't! That solution wasn't there yet when I last looked. Thanks, will try that now! -- Best regards, Susannemailto:sisk...@gmail.com Using

Re: TLS Handshake and Certificate problems

2020-04-07 Thread Thomas Fernandez
Hello Susanne, On Tue, 7 Apr 2020 14:04:34 -0700 GMT (08-Apr-20, 4:04 +0700 GMT), Susanne wrote: > starting today, I have intermittent problems sending emails in one account > (so far). > Error message in the log is TLS handshake failure. Invalid server > certificate (The certificate cannot