Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-17 Thread Michael Meeks
Hi Marc, On Thu, 2012-08-16 at 09:03 -0800, Marc Grober wrote: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=35361 ... that you knew you are creating extra work for the volunteers on the QA team with intend is really disgusting given the workload of this team. I suspect that what upset

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-17 Thread Michael Meeks
On Thu, 2012-08-16 at 09:00 -0800, Marc Grober wrote: The latest from Florian in misspelled CAPS (which now brings us to the fact that the devs have touched this bug some 8 times without ever bothering to actually read it) - Bravo Florian, we read you 5 by 5: I've read it a couple of

NEEDINFO status on bugs vs. additional comments (was: Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.)

2012-08-17 Thread Thorsten Behrens
leif wrote: Half the problem is communication. Very much to the point. 1) simply commenting a bug does _not_ remove NEEDINFO status - in this case, only if the submitter had commented _and_ changed status to NEW, the bugs wouldn't have been closed 2) exposing users to the

Re: NEEDINFO status on bugs vs. additional comments (was: Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.)

2012-08-17 Thread Leif Lodahl
2012/8/17 Thorsten Behrens t...@documentfoundation.org Sorry for the mess - but I would hate us arguing over spilled milk, instead of moving ahead. -- Thorsten +1 These are the most well spoken words in this case so far :-) Cheers, Leif -- For unsubscribe instructions e-mail to:

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-17 Thread Leif Lodahl
Hi Michael and all, May I suggest that we try to close down the discussion and try to find an acceptable approach? I believe that Michaels earlier mail explained the context and (as I read it) also include a small *apologize*. I suggest that - we send a polite and excusing mail to all the

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-17 Thread Tom Davies
Hi :)+1 Regards fromTom :)   --- On Fri, 17/8/12, Leif Lodahl leiflod...@gmail.com wrote: From: Leif Lodahl leiflod...@gmail.com Subject: Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same. To:

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-16 Thread Tom Davies
Hi :) Interesting thought and a good diagram, thanks :)  Something i have wondered for a while is how to utilise what this particular list has to offer, perhaps confirming bug-reports could be partially done through this list? Occasionally someone new on this list expresses an interest in

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-16 Thread Marc Grober
And now someone has jumped on my bug and changed my reporting so that it shows that it is only in 3.3 - that's the last straw. I will not have anything further to do with bug reporting. All those fine devs can choke on their bloody buggy product. Congratulations! You have alienated yet another

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-16 Thread Tom Davies
Gr, can't you just change it back?  Don't go!  If you do you will be missed!  Regards from Tom :) --- On Thu, 16/8/12, Marc Grober m...@interak.com wrote: From: Marc Grober m...@interak.com Subject: Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-16 Thread Marc Grober
On 8/16/12 7:07 AM, Tom Davies wrote: Gr, can't you just change it back? rant That is not the point, Tom. This bug was only really a matter of a file having been dropped. But the devs have spent more time fiddling with how it is listed than if they had just added the missing file. More

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-16 Thread Michael Meeks
Hi Marc, On Thu, 2012-08-16 at 08:23 -0800, Marc Grober wrote: But the devs have spent more time fiddling with how it is listed One thing that frustrates me, since I've only just subscribed is that we seem to be talking about a load of bugs with no numbers I can easily lookup.

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-16 Thread Marc Grober
The latest from Florian in misspelled CAPS (which now brings us to the fact that the devs have touched this bug some 8 times without ever bothering to actually read it) - Bravo Florian, we read you 5 by 5: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=35361 Florian Reisinger reisi...@gmail.com

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-16 Thread Marc Grober
And here is the best bit: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=35361 --- Comment #42 from Björn Michaelsen bjoern.michael...@canonical.com 2012-08-16 16:58:22 UTC --- @Marc: Seeing you boasting here:

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-16 Thread Marc Grober
I put the bug back into Resolved-Invalid status. Done. Excuse me while I go abuse myself :-) On 8/16/12 9:03 AM, Marc Grober wrote: And here is the best bit: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=35361 --- Comment #42 from Björn Michaelsen bjoern.michael...@canonical.com 2012-08-16

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Thomas Taylor
On Tue, 14 Aug 2012 22:13:01 +0200 Andreas Säger ville...@t-online.de wrote: Am 14.08.2012 20:48, Marc Grober wrote: This (see the quote below) is simply unacceptable. In fact, with respect to the bug on which I received this little gem quite a few people had been at pains to clearly

[libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Andreas Säger
Am 15.08.2012 08:03, Thomas Taylor wrote: Hi Andreas, I am not trying to be critical but for the last 2-3 releases no email message was received about NEED INFO. That had been done in earlier releases. Is there a malfunction in the bug reporting system? My programming days are many years

[libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread V Stuart Foote
Marc Grober wrote First, I may be inconsequential, but I did not see any apology. Perhaps it only went out on the dev list. Yes the apology was issued over on the Dev and QA lists--inserted below. But we folks on the QA and User side do have a responsibility to follow our bugs when

[libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Andreas Säger
Am 15.08.2012 20:05, leif wrote: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=39523 The bug has never been commented by humans and all later activity was automated (except the once from my hand). The perfect example for what went wrong here. Someone tagged it blindly as NEEDINFO although

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Marc Grober
Ditto on mine. this was just mindless On 8/15/12 10:50 AM, Andreas Säger wrote: Am 15.08.2012 20:05, leif wrote: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=39523 The bug has never been commented by humans and all later activity was automated (except the once from my hand).

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Andrew Brager
I was curious as to what the commotion on this subject was so I looked at the bug submitted wherein I found the automated message: Björn Michaelsen 2011-12-23 12:27:51 UTC [This is an automated message.] This bug was filed before the changes to Bugzilla on 2011-10-16. Thus it

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Marc Grober
Yes and no. The initial news about bug tracker issues went out in March. Many responded, as did I, updating the bug to confirm that it was still a bug In fact, at the time I specifically asked why we needed to confirm the bug if in fact the bug was long stnding and nothing had been done

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Andrew Brager
Thanks for your comments. What still remains unclear to me (not that it matters as I have no influence/authority on anything done by anyone - I'm simply trying to help you all sort it out so somebody in a position to do something can then do it) is whether the bug status was changed in that

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Marc Grober
On 8/15/12 1:57 PM, Andrew Brager wrote: Thanks for your comments. What still remains unclear to me (not that it matters as I have no influence/authority on anything done by anyone - I'm simply trying to help you all sort it out so somebody in a position to do something can then do it) is

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Andrew Brager
On 8/15/2012 3:20 PM, Marc Grober wrote: On 8/15/12 1:57 PM, Andrew Brager wrote: Thanks for your comments. What still remains unclear to me (not that it matters as I have no influence/authority on anything done by anyone - I'm simply trying to help you all sort it out so somebody in a

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread anne-ology
I too would like to know. It's been mentioned a few times now ... someone asks what is it, yet no one responds ;-) or are they responding privately ??? On Tue, Aug 14, 2012 at 3:52 PM, Gordon Burgess-Parker gbpli...@gmail.comwrote: On 14/08/12 21:13, Andreas Säger

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Andrew Brager
I've seen at least one or two people respond to the question. For some reason you don't appear to be seeing all the posts here. In particular you didn't respond to one of my own, specifically addressing your font issue wherein I provided a possible resolution. This particular message I'm

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Marc Grober
In fact it was explained twice before, so perhaps some of the list mail is going in to your spam folder? AOO is the apache branch of OpenOffice On 8/15/12 4:34 PM, anne-ology wrote: I too would like to know. It's been mentioned a few times now ... someone asks what is it, yet

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Robert Funnell
It was answered in this message: http://listarchives.libreoffice.org/global/users/msg22778.html And also (unnecessarily snarkily) in this one: http://listarchives.libreoffice.org/global/users/msg22784.html AOO = Apache Open Office On Wed, 15 Aug 2012, anne-ology wrote: I too would

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread anne-ology
Ok, I've received your message of 2 paragraphs [still below] - you state you will answer the question; where is the answer ??? ;-) Maybe I'm not receiving all the messages ... maybe your message was clipped for some reason ... but if you sent more than is

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread anne-ology
Thank you. On Wed, Aug 15, 2012 at 8:03 PM, Robert Funnell robert.funn...@mcgill.cawrote: It was answered in this message: http://listarchives.**libreoffice.org/global/users/**msg22778.htmlhttp://listarchives.libreoffice.org/global/users/msg22778.html And also (unnecessarily

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread anne-ology
Thank you. Obviously, some of the list mail is not getting through - BTW - as for me, these can't be landing in the 'spam folder' since I always check to be sure there's nothing there by mistake, before deleting these On Wed, Aug 15, 2012 at 8:03 PM, Marc Grober

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-15 Thread Andrew Brager
You don't seem to understand what I wrote. Bottom line is, it's in the archives - search for it there. I'm sure someone else can help you with that - don't ask me because I don't know how. On 8/15/2012 7:19 PM, anne-ology wrote: Ok, I've received your message of 2 paragraphs [still

[libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-14 Thread Andreas Säger
Am 14.08.2012 20:48, Marc Grober wrote: This (see the quote below) is simply unacceptable. In fact, with respect to the bug on which I received this little gem quite a few people had been at pains to clearly identify the problem and the potential solution, and neither having changed at all,

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-14 Thread Gordon Burgess-Parker
On 14/08/12 21:13, Andreas Säger wrote: I'm going to upgrade all our production systems to AOO 3.4.1 What is AOO? -- For unsubscribe instructions e-mail to: users+h...@global.libreoffice.org Problems? http://www.libreoffice.org/get-help/mailing-lists/how-to-unsubscribe/ Posting guidelines +

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-14 Thread Leif Lodahl
2012/8/14 Andreas Säger ville...@t-online.de +1 Today I got 16 such mails. Hi, Yes there has been a mistake - all mails has been send four times. The guy made a mistake and he apologized for that and I'm pretty sure he won't do that mistake next time. Mistakes happen no matter what

Re: [libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-14 Thread Marc Grober
AOO is the apache open office. -- For unsubscribe instructions e-mail to: users+h...@global.libreoffice.org Problems? http://www.libreoffice.org/get-help/mailing-lists/how-to-unsubscribe/ Posting guidelines + more: http://wiki.documentfoundation.org/Netiquette List archive:

[libreoffice-users] Re: Excuse me, but your opinion is simply unimportant. Start over and you can expect more of the same.

2012-08-14 Thread Andreas Säger
Gordon Burgess-Parker wrote On 14/08/12 21:13, Andreas Säger wrote: I'm going to upgrade all our production systems to AOO 3.4.1 What is AOO? http://lmgtfy.com/?q=AOO -- View this message in context: