On Sun, Sep 10, 2017 at 1:55 PM, Troels Arvin wrote:
> In the settings for a storage domain, in "Advanced Options", there is an
> option "Discard After Delete". The default is that the checkbox is not
> The documentation at
> after-delete/ and
> does not mention why the option is not the default. What drawback does
> the "Dicard After Delete" feature have, since it's not the default?
Simply because in many cases it's not really needed. The whole purpose of
discarding is to allow the underlying storage to reclaim unused space. But
usually there's no need for it - you've deleted a disk, but you'd like to
use this space for a different disk - there's no need to give it back to
the storage (imagine file deletion in file system).
It only makes sense when the underlying storage is thin provisioned and you
need the space.
> Troels Arvin
> Users mailing list
Users mailing list