Re: [Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-06-21 Thread Gerard Meijssen
Hoi, I do not translate but I do care. What I personally do is include data in a structured manner. I do it for things I more or less care about.. It does include awards, educated at, employed by, Ottoman history, Africa, science.. The point in what I do is that much of these structures can be

Re: [Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-06-21 Thread Dan Szymborski
On Mon, Jun 8, 2020 at 6:58 PM Zack McCune wrote: > Hi GerardM, > > Indeed! > > > As I mentioned in my earlier message, the process will be multilingual. We > want to ensure that as many people as possible from across the movement > have the opportunity to participate, so we are working hard to

Re: [Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-06-09 Thread Фархад Фаткуллин / Farhad Fatkullin
FYI: I volunteer interpreting Wikimedia broadcasts live into Russian whenever I know and available, usually via parallel Facebook Messenger call - announcing this on Wikimedia Languages of Russia Facebook group & then uploading the recording in various places - like

Re: [Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-06-08 Thread Zack McCune
Hi GerardM, Indeed! As I mentioned in my earlier message, the process will be multilingual. We want to ensure that as many people as possible from across the movement have the opportunity to participate, so we are working hard to make that happen. When it comes to naming in particular, we need

Re: [Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-06-07 Thread Gerard Meijssen
Hoi, How will you cope in other languages, other scripts. Is engaging all over the world NOT in English a consideration> Thanks, GerardM On Thu, 4 Jun 2020 at 05:34, Zack McCune wrote: > Hi Tito - > > Your observation is fair and welcome. The project team will update the > timeline on

Re: [Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-06-03 Thread Zack McCune
Hi Tito - Your observation is fair and welcome. The project team will update the timeline on Meta-Wiki to reflect the latest rescheduling and our relaunched consultations. The priority is on completing the collaborative design activities of the project (naming, design, and style guides) in time

Re: [Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-06-03 Thread Tito Dutta
With kind permission, I would like to further explain my question (in case it was unclear, and kindly assume good faith): The resolution (linked above and at [1]) states that "the Board affirms its support for the brand project and its strategic importance for the movement, mission, and 2030

Re: [Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-06-03 Thread Tito Dutta
Hello, From the resolution page ( https://foundation.wikimedia.org/wiki/Resolution:Brand_Project_Support_(May_2020) : "... and the Board directs the Foundation to complete this work by Wikipedia's 20th birthday." — That is 15 January 2021. Interesting. It seems the option is now to select one of

Re: [Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-06-03 Thread Zack McCune
Hi everyone, As promised, we are back with an update and a new timeline to discuss names as a movement. We are excited to take on naming together beginning 16 June. Here is an overview of what happened and what to expect: After additional weeks of legal review and a conversation with the Board

Re: [Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-05-06 Thread Heather Walls
Hi all, I wanted to quickly follow up and thank you for being patient. Zack, Essie, Samir, Elena, and the entire project team was eager, working very very hard, and prepared to share the planned Naming Convention Proposals this week. Our colleagues across the Foundation, particularly in Legal,

[Wikimedia-l] [Brand Project] Rescheduling Naming Convention Proposal community review

2020-05-06 Thread Zack McCune
Hi everyone- Today, we are rescheduling the Naming Convention Proposal community review planned for May 7 - 21, including tomorrow's live presentation. This critical part of the Movement Brand Project is designed to share and review compelling, unifying naming proposals that would sustain our