Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-07 Thread Andy Mabbett
On 3 October 2014 00:24, James Heilman jmh...@gmail.com wrote: Article published by the journal Open Medicine http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/viewFile/562/564 Congratulations! I know your and J. De Wolff's user names, but the other two are harder to find. Is there a reason they're not made

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-06 Thread Emily Blanchard
The day has finally come- Amazing and Congratulations! Emily Blanchard Talent Acquisition Team Wikimedia Foundation eblanchard@wikimedia. eblanch...@gmail.comorg Follow us on Twitter @wikimediaatwork http://wikimediafoundation.org/wiki/Home Become a Contributor:

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-06 Thread Cristian Consonni
Hi James, first of all, congrats for proving this to be possible. As it has already been said it is an achievement nothing short of great. 2014-10-04 15:47 GMT+02:00 James Heilman jmh...@gmail.com: I agree all Wikipedia articles are sort of peer reviewed. When I speak about GA/FA I refer to it

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-06 Thread Rachel diCerbo
On Thu, Oct 2, 2014 at 4:24 PM, James Heilman jmh...@gmail.com wrote: Article published by the journal Open Medicine http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/viewFile/562/564 Will soon be pubmed indexed. Editorial regarding the efforts are here http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/view/652/565

[Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-06 Thread James Heilman
@ Cristian. I mean by number of edits. Wikipedians by number of edits is listed here for the Dengue fever article. https://tools.wmflabs.org/xtools/articleinfo/index.php?article=Dengue_feverlang=enwiki=wikipedia Yes I do know number of edits is not perfect and that someone who has made a single

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-05 Thread Lila Tretikov
James -- this is really great, thank you for sharing. On Thu, Oct 2, 2014 at 4:24 PM, James Heilman jmh...@gmail.com wrote: Article published by the journal Open Medicine http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/viewFile/562/564 Will soon be pubmed indexed. Editorial regarding the efforts are here

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-04 Thread Peter Southwood
Not really P -Original Message- From: wikimedia-l-boun...@lists.wikimedia.org [mailto:wikimedia-l-boun...@lists.wikimedia.org] On Behalf Of Erlend Bjørtvedt Sent: 03 October 2014 09:57 PM To: Wikimedia Mailing List Subject: Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-04 Thread Nurunnaby Hasive
Sent: 03 October 2014 09:57 PM To: Wikimedia Mailing List Subject: Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published But remember: all Wikipedia articles are peer reviewed.. Erlend Bjørtvedt Den fredag 3. oktober 2014 skrev Vishnu visdav

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-04 Thread Erlend Bjørtvedt
Bjørtvedt Sent: 03 October 2014 09:57 PM To: Wikimedia Mailing List Subject: Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published But remember: all Wikipedia articles are peer reviewed.. Erlend Bjørtvedt Den fredag 3. oktober 2014 skrev

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-04 Thread James Heilman
I agree all Wikipedia articles are sort of peer reviewed. When I speak about GA/FA I refer to it as Wikipedia's semi-formal peer review process. With respect to authorship, the 5th to 10th contributors by number of editors were contacted and asked if they wished to be listed as an author. All of

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-04 Thread Todd Allen
This is indeed an accomplishment. Well due congratulations to all involved. On Sat, Oct 4, 2014 at 7:47 AM, James Heilman jmh...@gmail.com wrote: I agree all Wikipedia articles are sort of peer reviewed. When I speak about GA/FA I refer to it as Wikipedia's semi-formal peer review process.

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-04 Thread Pete Forsyth
On Oct 4, 2014 1:30 PM, Ziko van Dijk zvand...@gmail.com wrote: I hope that someone will do something with our etherpad notes. Link? ___ Wikimedia-l mailing list, guidelines at: https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Mailing_lists/Guidelines

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-03 Thread Peter Southwood
has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published Article published by the journal Open Medicine http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/viewFile/562/564 Will soon be pubmed indexed. Editorial regarding the efforts are here http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/view/652/565 Hope these sorts of efforts

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-03 Thread Tanweer Morshed
Subject: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published Article published by the journal Open Medicine http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/viewFile/562/564 Will soon be pubmed indexed. Editorial regarding the efforts are here http://www.openmedicine.ca

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-03 Thread Vishnu
Congratulations! A great model that could be emulated by many of us across other disciplines too. Cheers, Vishnu On Friday 03 October 2014 04:54 AM, James Heilman wrote: Article published by the journal Open Medicine http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/viewFile/562/564 Will soon be pubmed

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-03 Thread David Gerard
James - I suggest you (or someone) draft a post for the WIkimedia blog on the topic: https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Wikimedia_Blog On 3 October 2014 00:24, James Heilman jmh...@gmail.com wrote: Article published by the journal Open Medicine http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/viewFile/562/564

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-03 Thread Pete Forsyth
Big congrats James! And: On Thu, Oct 2, 2014 at 6:29 PM, Marc A. Pelletier m...@uberbox.org wrote: On 10/02/2014 07:24 PM, James Heilman wrote: Hope these sorts of efforts will improve the reputation of Wikipedia and the number of contributors. I guess we will see. Beyond this, and (IMO)

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-03 Thread Erlend Bjørtvedt
But remember: all Wikipedia articles are peer reviewed.. Erlend Bjørtvedt Den fredag 3. oktober 2014 skrev Vishnu visdav...@gmail.com følgende: Congratulations! A great model that could be emulated by many of us across other disciplines too. Cheers, Vishnu On Friday 03 October

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-03 Thread Risker
Umm, no, they aren't - at least not in the way the term is used in scientific subjects. Many articles are never reviewed in any systematic manner; in fact, that is the overwhelming majority of our articles. Those that are formally reviewed are reviewed in the context of meeting *Wikipedia*

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-03 Thread Michael Peel
Wikipedia articles are passively peer reviewed every time someone with knowledge of the topic reads the article. Ideally, this would be the equal of scientific peer review. In reality, most such people don’t bother giving feedback, or are unable to figure out how to give feedback. Hopefully we

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-03 Thread Marc A. Pelletier
On 10/03/2014 06:58 PM, Michael Peel wrote: It’s great to see that this article has been formally reviewed, although it is disappointing to see how short the author list for the formal article is here, given how many people have actually contributed to the article over the years. In the

[Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-02 Thread James Heilman
Article published by the journal Open Medicine http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/viewFile/562/564 Will soon be pubmed indexed. Editorial regarding the efforts are here http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/view/652/565 Hope these sorts of efforts will improve the reputation of Wikipedia and the

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-02 Thread Marc A. Pelletier
On 10/02/2014 07:24 PM, James Heilman wrote: Hope these sorts of efforts will improve the reputation of Wikipedia and the number of contributors. I guess we will see. Beyond this, and (IMO) even more importantly, it means that we are succeeding at our mission where it counts. That a Wikipedia

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-02 Thread Anasuya Sengupta
Congratulations, James - and everyone else who worked on this. This is a significant achievement, not only because of the publishing of the article itself, but for what it heralds more broadly, as Coren said. Warmly, Anasuya On Thu, Oct 2, 2014 at 4:24 PM, James Heilman jmh...@gmail.com wrote:

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-02 Thread Anna Stillwell
Nice work, James. Rock on, /a On Thu, Oct 2, 2014 at 7:09 PM, Anasuya Sengupta asengu...@wikimedia.org wrote: Congratulations, James - and everyone else who worked on this. This is a significant achievement, not only because of the publishing of the article itself, but for what it heralds

Re: [Wikimedia-l] First Wikipedia Article has been Formally Peer Reviewed and Published

2014-10-02 Thread Asaf Bartov
Kudos, doc! You've done it again. :) A. On Thu, Oct 2, 2014 at 4:24 PM, James Heilman jmh...@gmail.com wrote: Article published by the journal Open Medicine http://www.openmedicine.ca/article/viewFile/562/564 Will soon be pubmed indexed. Editorial regarding the efforts are here