[Wikimedia-l] Wikimedia Summit 2021 in Berlin cancelled

2020-09-24 Thread Abraham Taherivand
Dear all, It’s with regret that we have to inform you that due to the continued global health situation (COVID-19), the meeting of the Wikimedia Summit 2021 and related side events in Berlin have been cancelled. We optimistically look forward to safely reconvening in Berlin in 2022. Best

Re: [Wikimedia-l] Wikimedia Summit 2021 in Berlin cancelled

2020-09-24 Thread Rajeeb
Very sad to hear that, hopefully a virtual one will make us happy. Regards, Rajeeb. (U:Marajozkee). On Thu, 24 Sep 2020 at 12:31, Abraham Taherivand < abraham.taheriv...@wikimedia.de> wrote: > Dear all, > > It’s with regret that we have to inform you that due to the continued > global health

Re: [Wikimedia-l] Wikimedia Education Office Hours, September 2020

2020-09-24 Thread Sailesh Patnaik
Dear Wikimedians, Join us today for the Education office hours, scheduled in the next 5 hours or at 14:00 UTC (19:30 IST or 7:00 PDT or 21:00 ICT). You can find the link to join the call through this page: https://outreach.wikimedia.org/wiki/Education/About/Office_Hours/September_24_2020 Best!

Re: [Wikimedia-l] Wikimedia Summit 2021 in Berlin cancelled

2020-09-24 Thread effe iets anders
Oh, I totally didn't notice that this was about 2021! Thanks for pointing that out. This was not obvious to me either. Please disregard my previous email. I share your disappointment. Lodewijk On Thu, Sep 24, 2020 at 10:29 AM Risker wrote: > I'm not entirely certain that people outside of

Re: [Wikimedia-l] Wikimedia Summit 2021 in Berlin cancelled

2020-09-24 Thread effe iets anders
Maybe I'm reading it wrong, but I think the point of this message is to say that nothing virtual will be organized either (we already knew no physical meeting was going to happen). Which brings lots of questions as to how that affects the strategy implementation. Lodewijk On Thu, Sep 24, 2020 at

Re: [Wikimedia-l] Wikimedia Summit 2021 in Berlin cancelled

2020-09-24 Thread Risker
I'm not entirely certain that people outside of Europe necessarily were aware that the in-person meeting was going to be cancelled, or at least that a decision/announcement to cancel it would be made this far in advance. I agree that cancellation, even seven months before the scheduled meeting,

Re: [Wikimedia-l] Wikimedia Summit 2021 in Berlin cancelled

2020-09-24 Thread Tito Dutta
Greetings Considering the brief email mostly talked about the in-person event in Berlin, has there been any thought to break the usual timing of Wikimedia Summit, which is generally April, and try "possibly" pushing it in the later part of the year such as September, October, November 2021? (I