[WISPA] Test - Ignore

2006-03-31 Thread John Scrivner

Testing WISPA list server
WISPA Wireless List: wireless@wispa.org


Archives: http://lists.wispa.org/pipermail/wireless/

[WISPA] Re: [isp-wireless] USF fund reform

2006-03-31 Thread Marlon K. Schafer (509) 982-2181
Title: Re: [isp-wireless] USF fund reform

Thanks Frannie!

Equipment sales(408) 907-6910 
Consulting services42846865 
And I run my own wisp! (net meeting)www.odessaoffice.com/wirelesswww.odessaoffice.com/marlon/cam

  - Original Message - 
  To: Marlon K. Schafer (509) 982-2181 ; isp-wireless@isp-wireless.com 
  Sent: Friday, March 31, 2006 7:05 
  Subject: Re: [isp-wireless] USF fund 
  I can give you the names of some supportive members of Congress and some 
  bill names. Below I'll copy a list of members on the two committees. When 
  calling legislators people could just say what their key interest is, for 
  example, that they support expansion of USF to broadband.
  The Senate side is more promising, but not as straightforward - lots of 
  bills. The House side is less promising for moving a bill forward on 
  Let's start with the House where USF supporters are representatives 
  Boucher (D-VA) and Terry (R-NE). Their bill is the Universal Service 
  Reform Act of 2006. The difficulty in the House is that the Chairman of the 
  House committee, Joe Barton, does not like USF. He and members of this 
  committee could use some calls with your input.
  The Senate is different. USF has wide support on the Commerce Committee. 
  Its chairman, Ted Stevens (R-AK), is a big supporter of USF and expansion to 
  broadband. Other committee members supporting USF include Senators Burns 
  (R-MT), Lott (R-MI), Dorgan (D-ND), Snowe (R-ME), Rockefeller (D-WV), and 
  Pryor (D-AR). Two of the bills in the Senate involving USF are:
  the Universal Service for the 21st Century Act, S 
  1583, introduced by Senators Smith, Dorgan and Pryor,
  and the Internet and Universal Service Act of 2006, S 
  2256, introduced by Senator Burns.
  Here's the testimony we gave at the recent Senate hearing on USF 
  Hope some of this is helpful and I send apologies that it's not more 
  concise - we were working until 4:30am last night and my brain's a little 
  fried. I've pasted below a list of Senate Commerce Committee members and 
  another list of House Energy and Commerce Committee members.
  Senate Commerce Committee Members:
   * Ted Stevens - Alaska 
   Hart 522 
   * Daniel K. Inouye - Hawaii 
  (Ranking Member)
   Hart 722 
   * John McCain - 
  Arizona Russell 241 
  202-224-2235 * Conrad Burns - 
  Montana Dirksen 187 
  202-224-2644 * Trent Lott - 
  Mississippi Russell 487 
  202-224-6253 * Kay Bailey Hutchison - 
  Texas Russell 284 
  202-224-5922 * Olympia Snowe - 
  Maine Russell 154 
  202-224-5344 * Gordon Smith - 
  Oregon Russell 404 
  202-224-3753 * John Ensign - 
  Nevada Russell 364 
  202-224-6244 * George Allen - 
  Virginia Russell 204 
  202-224-4024 * John Sununu - New 
  Hampshire Russell 111 
  202-224-2841 * Jim DeMint - South 
  Carolina Russell 340 
  202-224-6121 * David Vitter - Louisiana
  516 202-224-4623
   * John D. Rockefeller IV - West 
  Virginia Hart 531 
  202-224-6472 * John F. Kerry - 
  Massachussetts Russell 304 
  202-224-2742 * Byron L. Dorgan - North 
  Dakota Hart 322 
  202-224-2551 * Barbara Boxer - 
  California Hart 112 
  202-224-3553 * Bill Nelson - 
  Florida Hart 716 
  202-224-5274 * Maria Cantwell - 
  Washington Hart 717 
  202-224-3441 * Frank Lautenberg - New 
  Jersey Hart 324 
  202-224-3224 * E. Benjamin Nelson - 
  Nebraska Hart 720 
  202-224-6551 * Mark Pryor - Arkansas
  217 202-224-2353
  House Energy and Commerce Committee 
  Joe Barton, TexasChairman
  John D. Dingell, Michigan
  Ranking Member
  Ralph M. Hall, TexasMichael 
  Bilirakis, Florida
  Vice ChairmanFred Upton, 
  MichiganCliff Stearns, FloridaPaul E. Gillmor, 
  OhioNathan Deal, GeorgiaEd Whitfield, KentuckyCharlie 
  Norwood, GeorgiaBarbara Cubin, WyomingJohn Shimkus, 
  IllinoisHeather Wilson, New MexicoJohn B. Shadegg, 
  ArizonaCharles "Chip" Pickering, MississippiVice 
  ChairmanVito Fossella, New York
  Roy Blunt, MissouriSteve Buyer, 
  IndianaGeorge Radanovich, CaliforniaCharles F. Bass, New 
  HampshireJoseph R. Pitts, PennsylvaniaMary Bono, 
  CaliforniaGreg Walden, OregonLee Terry, NebraskaMike 
  Ferguson, New JerseyMike Rogers, MichiganC.L. "Butch" Otter, 
  IdahoSue Myrick, North CarolinaJohn Sullivan, 
  OklahomaTim Murphy, PennsylvaniaMichael Burgess, 
  Marsha Blackburn, 
  Tennessee Henry A. 
  Waxman, CaliforniaEdward J. Markey, MassachusettsRick Boucher, 
  VirginiaEdolphus Towns, New YorkFrank Pallone Jr., New 
  JerseySherrod Brown, OhioBart Gordon, TennesseeBobby