Press Release . Communiqué de presse
(Exclusively for the use of the media. Not an official document)


The Hague, 7 September 2001
CC/ P.I.S./ 618-e


On Monday 10 September, at 9.30 a.m., the Judges’ Chambers of the
International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia will, for the
first time in its history, begin three trials on the same day.

Seven accused will be put on trial: Mladen Naletilic and Vinko
Martinovic ("Tuta & Stela"), Mitar Vasiljevic ("Visegrad"), Milan Simic,
Blagoje Simic, Miroslav Tadic and Simo Zaric ("Bosanski Samac").
Additionally, there are three more accused whose joint trial is
currently on-going (Dusko Sikirica, Damir Dosen and Dragan Kolundzija,
"Keraterm camp"). The new trials will reduce to fifteen the number of
accused whose cases are at the pre-trial stage.

Moreover, six accused are currently awaiting judgement by a Trial
Chamber, three accused are awaiting adjustment of their sentences by a
Trial Chamber, while twelve are at the appeals stage (with five awaiting
judgement, and seven whose appeal hearings will be heard in due course).

This expediency in hearing pending cases is the result of, among other
factors, the appointment of six ad litem Judges. As recently pointed out
by Judge Claude Jorda, President of the International Tribunal : "the
appointment of the ad litem Judges is a significant turning point in
that it will allow the Trial Chambers to double their judgement capacity
to six simultaneous trials by the end of January 2002" (see Press
Releases 596, 607 and 614). The appointment to the Appeals Chambers of
two additional Judges will also enhance the judgement capacity of the
Appeals Chamber (see Press Release 603).

Following the ceremony on Thursday 6 September, during which the six
newly appointed ad litem Judges made their solemn declaration, the
President of the Tribunal, in consultation with the Judges of the
Tribunal and the Presiding Judges of Trial Chambers I and II, has
assigned the Judges and the cases to the following Chambers:

The Prosecutor v. Vinko Martinovic & Mladen Naletilic : Trial Chamber I,
Section A, consisting of Judge Liu Daqun (Presiding, China), Judge
Maureen Harding Clark (Ireland) and Judge Fatoumata Diarra (Mali).

The Prosecutor v. Mitar Vasiljevic : Trail Chamber II, Section A,
consisting of Judge David Hunt (Presiding, Australia), Judge Ivana Jan·
(Czech Republic) and Judge Chikako Taya (Japan).

The Prosecutor v. Milan Simic, Blagoje Simic, Miroslav Tadic and Simo
Zaric:  Trial Chamber II, Section B, consisting of Judge Florence Mumba
(Presiding, Zambia), Judge Amarjeet Singh (Singapore) and Judge Sharon
Williams (Canada).


NSP Lista isprobava demokratiju u praksi

Or send an email To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
This email was sent to:

T O P I C A -- Register now to manage your mail!

Одговори путем е-поште