[ The Types Forum (announcements only), 
     http://lists.seas.upenn.edu/mailman/listinfo/types-announce ]

                         TLDI 2010                      

                *** Second Call for Papers ***

             The Fifth ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on
          Types in Language Design and Implementation

              Madrid, Spain, January 23, 2010
                (Co-located with POPL 2010)


                Submission Deadline: 5 October 2009

The role of types and proofs in all aspects of language design, compiler 
construction, and software development has expanded greatly in recent years. 
Type systems, type-based analyses and type-theoretic deductive systems have 
been central to advances in compilation techniques for modern programming 
languages, verification of safety and security properties of programs, program 
transformation and optimization, and many other areas. The ACM SIGPLAN Workshop 
on Types in Language Design and Implementation brings researchers together to 
share new ideas and results concerning all aspects of types and programming, 
and is now an annual event. TLDI 2010 is the fifth workshop in the series and 
will be co-located with POPL in Madrid, Spain in January 2010.

Submissions for TLDI 2010 are invited on all interactions of types with 
language design, implementation, and programming methodology. This includes 
both practical applications and theoretical aspects. TLDI 2010 specifically 
encourages papers from a broad field of programming language and compiler 
researchers, including those working on object-oriented, dynamically-typed or 
late-bound languages, systems programming, mobile-code or security, as well as 
traditional fully-static type systems. Topics of interest include:

   * Typed intermediate languages and type-directed compilation
   * Type-based language support for safety and security
   * Types for interoperability
   * Type systems for system programming languages
   * Type-based program analysis, transformation, and optimization
   * Dependent types and type-based proof assistants
   * Types for security protocols, concurrency, and distributed computing
   * Type inference and type reconstruction
   * Type-based specifications of data structures and program invariants
   * Type-based memory management
   * Proof-carrying code and certifying compilation
   * Types and objects

This is not meant to be an exhaustive list; papers on novel utilizations of 
type information are welcome. Authors concerned about the suitability of a 
topic are encouraged to inquire via electronic mail to the program chair prior 
to submission.

Submission Guidelines:

Authors should submit a full paper of no more than 12 pages (including 
bibliography and appendices) by Monday 5th October, 2009. The submission 
deadline and length limitations are firm. Submissions that do not meet these 
guidelines will not be considered. 

All submissions should be in standard ACM SIGPLAN conference format:
two columns, nine-point font on a ten-point baseline. Detailed formatting 
guidelines are available on the SIGPLAN Author Information page, along with a 
LaTeX class file and template.

Papers must be submitted electronically via the conference website in Adobe 
Portable Document Format (PDF) and must be formatted for US Letter size 
(8.5"x11") paper. Authors for whom this is a hardship should contact the 
program chair before the deadline. 

Submitted papers must adhere to the SIGPLAN Republication Policy. Submissions 
should contain original research not published or submitted for publication 

Important Dates:

- Submission of papers: 5 October 2009 (Monday)
- Notification:         6 November 2009 (Friday)
- Final versions due:  15 November 2009 (Sunday)
- Workshop:            23 January 2010 (Saturday)

General Chair:

  Andrew Kennedy, Microsoft Research, UK

Program Chair:

  Nick Benton, Microsoft Research, UK

Program Committee:

  Gilles Barthe, IMDEA Software, Spain
  Viviana Bono, University of Torino, Italy
  Giorgio Ghelli, University of Pisa, Italy
  Dan Grossman, University of Washington, USA
  Atsushi Igarashi, Kyoto University, Japan
  Conor McBride, University of Strathclyde, UK
  Jeremy Siek, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA
  Zhong Shao, Yale University, USA
  Matthieu Sozeau, Harvard University, USA
  Chris Stone, Harvey Mudd College, USA
  Kristian Støvring, ITU Copenhagen, Denmark

Steering Committee:

  Amal Ahmed, Indiana University, USA
  Craig Chambers, University of Washington, USA
  Robert Harper, Carnegie Mellon University, USA (Chair)
  Xavier Leroy, INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt, France
  Greg Morrisett, Harvard University, USA
  George Necula, Rinera Networks and UC Berkeley, USA
  Atsushi Ohori, Tohoku University, Japan
  Francois Pottier, INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt, France
  Zhong Shao, Yale University, USA

Reply via email to