[ The Types Forum (announcements only), 
     http://lists.seas.upenn.edu/mailman/listinfo/types-announce ]

                    Call for Papers

              OOPSLA 2010 Research Papers
                   October 17 to 20
                Reno/Tahoe Nevada, USA

       Paper Submission Deadline: March 25, 2010
     Accept/Reject Notification Date: May 24, 2010

OOPSLA 2010 solicits research papers that present new research, report
novel technical results, advance the state of the art, or discuss
experience or experimentation. The scope of OOPSLA includes all
aspects of programming languages and software engineering, broadly

Papers may address any aspect of software development, including
requirements, modeling, prototyping, design, implementation,
generation, analysis, verification, testing, evaluation, project
cancellation, maintenance, reuse, regeneration, replacement, and
retirement of software systems. Papers on tools (such as new
programming languages, dynamic or static program analyses,
compilers, and garbage collectors) or techniques (such as new
programming methodologies, type systems, design processes, code
organization approaches, and management techniques) designed to reduce
the time, effort, and/or cost of software systems are particularly

Submitted papers should conform to the ACM Proceedings Format. There
is no page limit on submitted papers. It is, however, the
responsibility of the authors to keep the reviewers interested and
motivated to read the paper. Reviewers are under no obligation to read
all or even a substantial portion of a paper if they do not find the
initial part of the paper interesting. The committee will not accept a
paper if it is not clear to the committee that the paper will fit in
the OOPSLA 2010 proceedings, which will limit accepted papers to 20
pages. We anticipate that the vast majority of accepted OOPSLA
submissions will fit in 12 pages or less.

OOPSLA particularly encourages the submission of papers that diverge
from the dominant trajectory of the field or challenge the existing
value system. Such papers are often controversial. To enhance the
ability of the program committee to accept such papers, each member of
the committee will have the unilateral right to accept one paper into
the conference regardless of the opinions of the other committee
members. This policy is designed to favor papers that elicit strong
opinions (both positive and negative) over relatively predictable
papers that simply reinforce the existing status quo.

The program committee may consider the following criteria
when evaluating submitted papers:

Novelty - The paper presents new ideas and/or results and places these
  ideas and results appropriately within the context established by
  previous research in the field.

Interest - The results in the paper are interesting, intriguing, or
  provocative. The paper challenges or changes informed opinion about
  what is possible, true, or likely.

Evidence - The paper presents evidence supporting its claims.
  Examples of evidence include formalizations and proofs,
  implemented systems, experimental results, statistical
  analyses, case studies, and anecdotes.

Clarity - The paper presents its claims and results clearly.

OOPSLA 2010 will continue a long-standing tradition of recognizing a
student-authored paper of the conference. The program chair will select
the recognized paper among those recommended by the program committee.
Eligible papers will describe the work of one or more students, one of
whom must be the primary author. Authors will indicate eligibility as
part of the submission process.

OOPSLA 2010 will also present an award for the most influential paper
published 10 years ago at OOPSLA 2000.

OOPSLA Research papers will be presented as part of the new Systems,
Programming, Languages, and Applications: Software for Humanity
(SPLASH) Conference, which grew out of the Conference on
Object-Oriented Programming, Systems, Languages and Applications

Program Chair: Martin Rinard (MIT) rin...@lcs.mit.edu

Program Committee

Ali-Reza Adl-Tabatabai (Intel)
Elisa Baniassad (Australian National University)
Emery Berger (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
Hans-J. Boehm (HP Labs)
Michael Bond (University of Texas, Austin)
Cristian Cadar (Imperial College)
Robert Cartwright (Rice University)
Wei-Ngan Chin (National University of Singapore)
Jong-Deok Choi (Samsung)
Brian Demsky (University of California, Irvine)
Kathleen Fisher (AT&T Labs Research)
Richard P. Gabriel (IBM Research)
Robert Hirschfeld (Hasso-Plattner-Institut Potsdam)
Antony Hosking (Purdue University)
Maria Jump (King's College)
Christoph Kirsch (University of Salzburg)
Patrick Lam (Waterloo)
Gary T. Leavens (University of Central Florida)
Ondrej Lhotak (Waterloo)
Benjamin Pierce (University of Pennsylvania)
Bill Pugh (University of Maryland)
Shaz Qadeer (Microsoft)
Jakob Rehof (University of Dortmund)
Dirk Riehle (Friedrich-Alexander-University of Erlangen-Nurnberg)
Dave Thomas (Bedarra Research Labs)
Vijay Saraswat (IBM Research)
Koushik Sen (University of California, Berkeley)
Eli Tilevich (Virginia Tech)
Frank Tip (IBM Research)
Westley Weimer (University of Virginia)
Eran Yahav (IBM Research)
Kwangkeun Yi (Seoul National University)
Lenore Zuck (National Science Foundation, University of Illinois at Chicago)

OOPSLA 2010 will not accept submissions from Program Committee members.

OOPSLA 2010 submissions must conform to both the ACM Policy on Prior
Publication and Simultaneous Submissions, available at
and the SIGPLAN Republication Policy, available at

Reply via email to