Glad you have it sorted Eugene.
This is why I loathe to install anything Microsoft on my computers, unless I have to ;-)

Cheers,
Ronni

On 25/07/2008, at 2:25 PM, Eugene wrote:

Hi Ronnie,

WOW you won't believe the trials and tribulation....

Your instructions put me on the right track. When I did as you said I couldn't restore the File menu item on the top menu strip but you could delete / restore the others. I accidentally deleted the Edit menu whilst playing around with it and then could not recover that either. Damn!!

I then did a Find through the Finder on any documents modified today and deleted anything with microsoft in its name (I tried similar before) but this time I also deleted Normal.dotm Finally I have Word with a full menu, this is after about 4 weeks of missing the File menu.

Live and learn. Damn you Micro$oft!!

Thanks again Ronnie.

                     Regards,
                     Eugene


On 25/07/2008, at 1:34 PM, Ronda Brown wrote:

Hi Eugene,

This is where I found the bit about Word 5.1, does say it applies to MS Word 2008 for Mac.
<http://support.microsoft.com/kb/288341>

Also found this on MS Support site <http://support.microsoft.com/kb/295403/ >

Delete or Reset a Menu:

To delete or reset a menu, follow these steps:
1. While the Customize dialog box is open and the menu bar is visible, hold down the CONTROL key, and then click the menu that you want.
2.  Click Delete or Reset in the New dialog box.

To reset all menus back to default, follow these steps:
1.      On the Tools menu, click Customize.
2.      On the Toolbar tab, click Reset.
3.      In the dialog box that appears, click OK.

NOTE: In Word, if you are prompted to choose which template to reset the menus to, select the Normal Global Template.

Cheers,
Ronni


On 25/07/2008, at 1:23 PM, Eugene wrote:

Hi Ronni,

thanks for your response.

I cannot find the option for Word 5.1 menus on either the "view" pull down menu nor "view" in the preference panel. Perhaps it is not an option in Word 2008?

                    Regards,
                    Eugene


On 25/07/2008, at 12:51 PM, Ronda Brown wrote:


On 25/07/2008, at 12:18 PM, Eugene wrote:

Hi all,

MicroSoft Word (office 2008) has lost its 'File' menu header on the top menu bar. This means I can't do a Save As... etc unless I know the key board short cuts.

I have deleted word.plist, played with View - customise toolbar and menus, hit reset etc all to no avail.

Any ideas how to get my normal menu back?

Hi Eugene,

I don't use MS Word but you could check, when you click 'View' do you have 'Word 5.1 Menus' enabled?
If you do disable it.

Cheers,
Ronni

-- The WA Macintosh User Group Mailing List --
Archives - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/archives.shtml>
Guidelines - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/guidelines.shtml>
Unsubscribe - <mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]>



-- The WA Macintosh User Group Mailing List --
Archives - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/archives.shtml>
Guidelines - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/guidelines.shtml>
Unsubscribe - <mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]>


-- The WA Macintosh User Group Mailing List --
Archives - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/archives.shtml>
Guidelines - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/guidelines.shtml>
Unsubscribe - <mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]>



-- The WA Macintosh User Group Mailing List --
Archives - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/archives.shtml>
Guidelines - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/guidelines.shtml>
Unsubscribe - <mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]>


-- The WA Macintosh User Group Mailing List --
Archives - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/archives.shtml>
Guidelines - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/guidelines.shtml>
Unsubscribe - <mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]>