| Hi Peter, As you have now decided to exclude iMovie Events and iMovie Projects (or the whole Movie folder), from the Time Machine Backup, and backup these files using another backup procedure. (I would suggest to a Firewire External Drive, NOT USB). It is probably a good idea to delete the iMovie files that Time Machine has already backed up, this will also save some space. You have two choices: A) Delete a single entire snapshot (that is, all the files from a particular hourly run of Time Machine) or B) Delete all instances of a single file from a certain location, regardless of how many times that file was backed up. Since you tried to backup the iMovie files more times than one hourly backup, I would suggest you do the "Delete All Instances of a Single File". Delete an Entire Snapshot To delete all the files Time Machine backed up during a particular hourly run, follow these steps: 1. Click the Time Machine Dock icon or choose Enter Time Machine from the Time Machine menu to show the “time warp” display. 2. Using the arrow buttons or the timeline control on the side of the screen, navigate to the snapshot you want to delete. Note that if it occurred within the last day, you’ll delete just that hourly run; if it occurred earlier, you will delete the only remaining backup for a particular day or week. You can verify which backup you’ll be deleting by looking at the large bar at the bottom of the window. 3. From the pop-up Action menu, choose Delete Backup. (It doesn’t matter whether you have any file or folder selected.) Delete All Instances of a Single File To delete every backed up copy of a given file from your Time Machine backup, follow these steps: 1. In the Finder, navigate to the folder that contains (or once contained) any version of the file you want to delete. 2. Click the Time Machine Dock icon or choose Enter Time Machine from the Time Machine menu 3. Using the arrow buttons or the timeline control on the side of the screen, navigate to any previous version of the folder that contains the file you want to delete. Click once to select it. 4. From the pop-up Action menu Time Machine removes from its backup every copy of that file, in that location, that it ever backed up. (For some files, you may be prompted to enter an administrator password first.) Cheers, Ronni On 09/03/2010, at 12:32 PM, Crisp, Peter wrote:
-- The WA Macintosh User Group Mailing List -- Archives - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/archives.shtml> Guidelines - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/guidelines.shtml> Unsubscribe - <mailto:[email protected]> |
- Time Capsule backups Crisp, Peter
- Re: Time Capsule backups Alexander Hartner
- Re: Time Capsule backups James Devenish
- RE: Time Capsule backups Alan Smith
- RE: Time Capsule backups Crisp, Peter
- Re: Time Capsule backups Ronda Brown
- RE: Time Capsule backups Crisp, Peter
- Re: Time Capsule backups Ronda Brown
- RE: Time Capsule backups Crisp, Peter
- RE: Time Capsule backups Crisp, Peter
- Re: Time Capsule backups Ronda Brown

