Web browser: ---
Bug ID: 60303
Summary: SUL recreation of renamed users should be prevented
Component: User login and signup
CC: dga...@wikimedia.org, swall...@wikimedia.org
Mobile Platform: ---
If a user gets renamed on a local wiki, their account for that wiki is detached
from their global SUL account, which frees up their old username. However, if
that user logs into their old username, whether from old browser information
(old sessions, saved username/passwords, etc.) or from accidentally typing in
their old username, SUL will quietly recreate their account for them, and they
might continue editing without knowing that they're not using their new
username. This can cause particular problems if their rename had a privacy
aspect to it (e.g. they renamed themselves to remove their real name from their
username). I would propose some sort of cooldown on SUL automatic creation of
usernames that have been recently renamed locally to prevent these issues.
See also bug 32647, which is related to logging these.
You are receiving this mail because:
You are the assignee for the bug.
You are on the CC list for the bug.
Wikibugs-l mailing list