Summary: Use authorization control to prevent lost edits
Product: MediaWiki extensions
There are few things worse than losing a long edit because the wiki says "you
are not logged in" after committing the changes. For whatever reason, the back
button on the browser doesn't work, and you've lost all your work.
This can be approached as a workflow problem. As a user is not permitted to
commit edits, he never should have been allowed to imagine he were. One
solution is to presented the user the log-in page the second he clicked "edit".
Then this problem would have been avoided. But that's not the best solution.
If this were applied as a general rule to all wiki pages, it would make it
impossible to see something neat on a wiki page and then "edit" it in order to
understand the code, even if it's impossible to commit.
So the ideal workflow would be to be presented with an edit page if logged in,
or a static view of the wiki code if not. Or perhaps if not logged-in to be
presented with a wiki page that only has the "preview" button, not the "submit"
button. In any case, the idea is that an unauthorized user not be allowed to
try to submit to a site when it's clear he can't.
This seems like an easy feature to add (as a first step see if the user is
authorized to commit edits before drawing the submit button), and would add
another layer to prevent loss of data.
P.S. I am filing as a bug, not a feature request, because loss of data is
always a bug, no matter who is at fault.
Configure bugmail: https://bugzilla.wikimedia.org/userprefs.cgi?tab=email
------- You are receiving this mail because: -------
You are on the CC list for the bug.
Wikibugs-l mailing list