The Research Showcase will be starting in about 30 minutes.

On Thu, Mar 11, 2021 at 12:49 PM Janna Layton <jlay...@wikimedia.org> wrote:

> In this showcase, Prof. Danielle Bassett will present recent work studying
> individual and collective curiosity as network building processes using
> Wikipedia.
>
> Date/Time: March 17, 16:30 UTC (9:30am PT/12:30pm ET/17:30pm CET)
> Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jw2s_Y4J2tI
>
> Speaker: Danielle Bassett (University of Pennsylvania)
>
> Title: The curious human
>
> Abstract: The human mind is curious. It is strange, remarkable, and
> mystifying; it is eager, probing, questioning. Despite its pervasiveness
> and its relevance for our well-being, scientific studies of human curiosity
> that bridge both the organ of curiosity and the object of curiosity remain
> in their infancy. In this talk, I will integrate historical, philosophical,
> and psychological perspectives with techniques from applied mathematics and
> statistical physics to study individual and collective curiosity. In the
> former, I will evaluate how humans walk on the knowledge network of
> Wikipedia during unconstrained browsing. In doing so, we will capture
> idiosyncratic forms of curiosity that span multiple millennia, cultures,
> languages, and timescales. In the latter, I will consider the fruition of
> collective curiosity in the building of scientific knowledge as encoded in
> Wikipedia. Throughout, I will make a case for the position that individual
> and collective curiosity are both network building processes, providing a
> connective counterpoint to the common acquisitional account of curiosity in
> humans.
>
> Related papers:
>
> Hunters, busybodies, and the knowledge network building associated with
> curiosity. https://doi.org/10.31234/osf.io/undy4
>
> The network structure of scientific revolutions.
> http://arxiv.org/abs/2010.08381
>
> https://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/Wikimedia_Research/Showcase#March_2021
>
> --
> Janna Layton (she/her)
> Administrative Associate - Product & Technology
> Wikimedia Foundation <https://wikimediafoundation.org/>
>


-- 
Janna Layton (she/her)
Administrative Associate - Product & Technology
Wikimedia Foundation <https://wikimediafoundation.org/>
_______________________________________________
Wikimedia-l mailing list, guidelines at: 
https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Mailing_lists/Guidelines and 
https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Wikimedia-l
New messages to: Wikimedia-l@lists.wikimedia.org
Unsubscribe: https://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/wikimedia-l, 
<mailto:wikimedia-l-requ...@lists.wikimedia.org?subject=unsubscribe>

Reply via email to