It's a thorny one and I was almost taken in myself.

If you sign up with them they will effectively become the register of your
domain. Yes it is a scam and I have had clients of mine contacting me in
panic over this sort of letter.
This link has a lot more information on it.

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/1040704.html

Hopefully they will get canned (Again) but they will then just spring up
with a name change
Take Care
Dave
  -----Original Message-----
  From: [email protected]
[mailto:[email protected]]on Behalf Of Greg Keogh
  Sent: Saturday, 6 February 2010 12:05
  To: 'ausDotNet'
  Subject: [OT] Domain renewal scam


  Folks, just FYI, I received a fancy looking envelope postmarked Jamaica,
New York, USA containing a lovely coloured Expiration Notice that
superficially looks like an invoice. It's another one of those scams that
circulates every year or so where you can be tricked into paying absurd
prices for domain renewal. An enclosed return envelope has the address



  Domain Renewal Group
  189 Queen St, Suite 209
  Melbourne, 3000



  Phone: 1-905-479-2533

  www.domainrenewalgroup.com



  They want to charge me $45/year to renew a domain that I have owned and
registered for many years at about $5/year.



  I wonder if this is illegal, probably not, but I'd like to notify someone.



  Cheers,

  Greg

Reply via email to