One of my clients received the  message below today and here is the kicker -
this domain is not registered through DROA it is registered through Verisign
and shows up in the whois as being with Verisign.  I was hoping that someone
on this list could help me understand what DROA is up to with this.   About
a week ago, someone in the clients accounting department sent a check to
DROA in response to one of those bogus invoices for this domain, when the
president of the company found out this was going on he put a stop payment
on the check.  We have about 10 domains registered through OpenSRS for this
client.



Does anyone know what DROA is trying to do by pretending they are the
registrar of this domain and asking the client to approve or disapprove of
the transfer?  Has anyone else seen one of these?



CJS



<---------------------------Message to
client--------------------------------------->

From: "Domain Registry of America" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>

Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

Date: Thu, 12 Sep 2002 12:52:32 -0700

To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]

Subject: Domain Transfer Request for ANYDOMAIN.COM

Dear Customer,

You are receiving this notice because you are listed as one of the contacts

for the

domain name ANYDOMAIN.COM.

We have received a transfer request to move this domain to a different

registrar.

Please click on the following URL link and let us know if you approve OR

disapprove this domain transfer:

PLEASE NOTE: if the link below is broken you will need to copy and paste

everything between < > into your browser

http://www.transfer-approval.com/universal.asp?xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The deadline for responding to this request is: Sep 18, 2002.

Thank you for your time and attention regarding this matter.

If you have any questions please reply to this e-mail.

Sincerely,

Domain Registry of America




Reply via email to