That is Enom's standard transfer approval notice. Very similar to the way the OpenSRS transfer approval works.
The DRoA scheme transfers the domain in question to Enom. Your client sent the money and renewal form which is a request to transfer the domain. This is a step in the right direction for Enom. I believe they used to just accept the "DRoA renewal form" as proof of authorization. Looks like Enom is trying to protect their company from lawsuits directed at DRoA. On Thu, 12 Sep 2002, CJS wrote: > One of my clients received the message below today and here is the kicker - > this domain is not registered through DROA it is registered through Verisign > and shows up in the whois as being with Verisign. I was hoping that someone > on this list could help me understand what DROA is up to with this. About > a week ago, someone in the clients accounting department sent a check to > DROA in response to one of those bogus invoices for this domain, when the > president of the company found out this was going on he put a stop payment > on the check. We have about 10 domains registered through OpenSRS for this > client. > > > > Does anyone know what DROA is trying to do by pretending they are the > registrar of this domain and asking the client to approve or disapprove of > the transfer? Has anyone else seen one of these? > > > > CJS > > > > <---------------------------Message to > client---------------------------------------> > > From: "Domain Registry of America" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> > > Reply-To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] > > Date: Thu, 12 Sep 2002 12:52:32 -0700 > > To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] > > Subject: Domain Transfer Request for ANYDOMAIN.COM > > Dear Customer, > > You are receiving this notice because you are listed as one of the contacts > > for the > > domain name ANYDOMAIN.COM. > > We have received a transfer request to move this domain to a different > > registrar. > > Please click on the following URL link and let us know if you approve OR > > disapprove this domain transfer: > > PLEASE NOTE: if the link below is broken you will need to copy and paste > > everything between < > into your browser > > http://www.transfer-approval.com/universal.asp?xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx > > The deadline for responding to this request is: Sep 18, 2002. > > Thank you for your time and attention regarding this matter. > > If you have any questions please reply to this e-mail. > > Sincerely, > > Domain Registry of America > > > > >
