I just added the complete contents of a directory to my project, and 

  $ git add foo/
  $ git commit -m "Add foo."

Then I realized that I actually did not want to add all those files. So I 
tried to step back with:

  $ git reset --hard HEAD^

Git rolled back the commit okay, but also DELETED ALL THE FILES in that 

Please tell me there is a way to them back. And why the heck did git think 
it okay to delete them?

You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Git 
for human beings" group.
To view this discussion on the web visit 
To post to this group, send email to git-users@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to 
For more options, visit this group at 

Reply via email to