Congrats everyone!

It's a refreshing experience to see the work of people involved in not only 
programming, but teaching programming.
You put a lot of focus on user and student experience, and have a 
sensibility for listening and bringing fun into programming.

This creates a community and a programming environment in which it feels 
great to be a part of.

I'm excited to see how the recent engagement in the language from newcomers 
like me can push the language and the environment further, and eventually 
make people discover that programming is more than technical, but also 
inspirational, artistic, sometimes useless and beautiful, and deeply tied 
with our way to express ourselves.

I wanna bring programming back into people's hands, because computers are 
taking over our lives, and we need to take back control.
I feel that Racket is one of the best languages for that purpose, because 
it allows to design the languages that corresponds to each of us.
Each of us can have our own Racket, our own way of expressing ourselves, 
through that magical #lang, and I find this beautiful.

Sorry for the lyrical tone, I tend to get philosophical when talking about 
programming languages :P

Anyways, congratulations everybody, and keep up the good work :)

On Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 12:53:34 AM UTC+2, Matthew Flatt wrote:
> Dear Racketeers, 
> Racket has just received the 
>    2018 ACM SIGPLAN Software Systems Award 
> We are honored by this award, but it belongs to more than the core 
> group of people named in the citation. Many people have invested time 
> and energy into this language. 
>         The language is what it is now because of you. 
> Looking back at the modest beginnings in January 1995, we want to 
> acknowledge some contributors specially: 
>   John Clements, for constructing the incredible stepper back in the 
>      late 90s and thus helping distinguish DrScheme from all other 
>      pedagogic IDEs, for maintaining the beast for 20 years, and 
>      taking on many other library projects; 
>   Cormac Flanagan, for using PLT Scheme to create MrSpidey, which 
>      placed our little language into the web of SIGPLAN research and 
>      awareness way way back; 
>   Matthew Butterick for "Beautiful Racket", code, languages, volunteer 
>      teaching, and faithful evangelizing; 
>   Vincent St-Amour, Ryan Culpepper, Paul Steckler, and Mark Krentel 
>      for managing the Racket world of software for many years; 
>   and Vincent also for his tender love and care for RacketCon. 
> Many, many others have contributed to Racket over the past two decades 
> through implementation, teaching, and research. We have collected many 
> names at the end of this post, but our memories are probably flawed 
> and, in recent years, the contributor community has grown 
> tremendously. This doesn't mean we aren't thinking of you and thanking 
> you today --- and not just today, but every time we launch our 
> wonderful DrRacket and run beautiful Racket programs. 
> THANK YOU ALL. We are looking forward to many more years of 
> Racketeering! 
> - Matthew with Eli, Matthias, Robby, Shriram, Jay, and Sam 
> Contributors: Claire Alvis, Leif Andersen, Yavuz Arkun, Ian Barland, 
> Gann Bierner, Stephen Bloch, Filipe Cabecinhas, Corky Cartwright, 
> Stephen Chang, Richard Cleis, Richard Cobbe, Greg Cooper, Christos 
> Dimoulas, Eric Dobson, Carl Eastlund, Moy Easwaran, Will Farr, Dan 
> Feltey, Michael Filonenko, Burke Fetscher, Kathi Fisler, Spencer 
> Florence, Daniel Friedman, Tony Garnock-Jones, Sebastian Good, Paul 
> Graunke, Kathy Gray, Ben Greenman, Dan Grossman, Arjun Guha, Dave 
> Gurnell, Tobias Hammer, William Hatch, Bruce Hauman, Greg Hendershott, 
> Dave Herman, Jim Hollan, Blake Johnson, Andrew Kent, Gregor Kiczales, 
> Alexis King, Casey Klein, Alex Knauth, Geoffrey S. Knauth, Mario 
> Latendresse, Xiangqi Li, Guillaume Marceau, Gustavo Massaccesi, Jacob 
> Matthews, Mike T. McHenry, Philippe Meunier, Albert Meyer, Scott 
> Owens, David T. Pierson, Jon Rafkind, Prabhakar Ragde, Norman Ramsey, 
> Jamie Raymond, Grant Rettke, Guido Rößling, Emmanuel Schanzer, Paul 
> Schlie, Dorai Sitaram, Francisco Solsona, Sarah Spall, Mike Sperber, 
> Stevie Strickland, James Swaine, Jens Axel Søgaard, Neil Van Dyke, 
> David Van Horn, Anton van Straaten, Asumu Takikawa, Kevin Tew, Neil 
> Toronto, Milo Turner, Dale Vaillancourt, Dimitris Vyzovitis, Mitch 
> Wand, Stephanie Weirich, Noel Welsh, Adam Wick, Danny Yoo, Shu-Hung 
> You, and ChongKai Zhu. 

You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups 
"Racket Users" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email 
For more options, visit

Reply via email to