[EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote:

> This posting made from the web-site.  Please reply via
> email in addition to the group.  Thanks.
> ------------------------------------------------------
>
> PLEASE REPLY TO ME AT:   [EMAIL PROTECTED]
>
> This poor guy over at abuse at albanza.com is getting tons of abuse complaints in 
>error...  because SpamCop is reporting the Source of the spam in error.
>
> Apparently, the best we can figure, is that SpamCop is ignoring the First Received 
>line (assuming it is forged), and going by the Second received line...   Which is 
>showing MY OWN hosting company received the message...
>
> As a result, I end up reporting lots of spam to MY OWN hosting company -- when in 
>fact, it did Not originate there.
>
> The spam below is an example of one that apparently came from a cablemodem on 
>Roadrunner in Houston...  But Spamcop mistakenly reported it as originating from 
>albanza.com.
>
> Could you please tell me what can be done to correct this?
>
> If Spamcop is going to have me reporting spam to the WRONG place, I may as well not 
>waste people's time... and not report it at all.
>
> Here is the example spam:
>
> Retrieved email:
> This page may be saved for future reference:
> http://spamcop.net/sc?id=z19003250zf751ab5cef5c1ece6500dec78c4f1e11z
>
> X-Apparently-To: x via web13806.mail.yahoo.com
> X-Track: 4460: 2
> X-YahooFilteredBulk: 209.239.40.169
> Received: from unassigned.alabanza.com  (EHLO server2200.net) (209.239.40.169)
>   by mta106.mail.yahoo.com with SMTP; 27 Apr 2001 12:13:00 -0700 (PDT)
> Received: (from itproact@localhost)
>         by server2200.net (8.10.2/8.10.2) id f3RJCx810437
>         for x; Fri, 27 Apr 2001 15:12:59 -0400
> Received: from mta124.mail.yahoo.com (mta124.mail.yahoo.com [128.11.68.139])
>         by server2200.net (8.10.2/8.10.2) with SMTP id f3RJCuY10429
>         for <x>; Fri, 27 Apr 2001 15:12:57 -0400

>[snipped]

I'm not an expert on mail protocol, but I did notice that the
HELO in the first received line is spelled wrong.  That *could*
be why SpamCop would discard the line.  That and
unassigned.alabanza.com won't parse using the host tracker
feature but 209.239.40.169 does come up with
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

This looks to me like it may have come from a spam-friendly
mail server direct to your yahoo account and the headers were
intentionally messed up to throw spam tracking programs.

hobo

--
just a user, not an admin.

_______________________________________________
SpamCop-Help mailing list
[EMAIL PROTECTED]
http://news.spamcop.net/mailman/listinfo/spamcop-help

Reply via email to