Bug Tracker item #3466037, was opened at 2011-12-27 04:46 Message generated for change (Comment added) made by dcommander You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=1126848&aid=3466037&group_id=254363
Please note that this message will contain a full copy of the comment thread, including the initial issue submission, for this request, not just the latest update. Category: FLTK viewer Group: trunk Status: Open Resolution: None Priority: 5 Private: No Submitted By: Werner B. (werner-b) Assigned to: Pierre Ossman (ossman_) Summary: Control keys do not work in viewer Initial Comment: I found that control keys do not work in current vnc viewer (1.1.90/1.2 beta 1): (e.g. Ctrl-C in xterm (linux / mac os) or cmd.exe (windows), Ctrl-U / Ctrl-D for page up/down in vi etc.) This worked fine in tiger vnc 1.1.0 but is broken in 1.1.90. In Viewport.cxx, the function Viewport::translateKeyEvent tries to also translate control key codes which leads to some strange key symbols. I have added these 3 lines of code to Viewport.xyy line 728: } new=> // Do not try to translate control keys new=> if(strlen(keyText) == 1 && *keyText < 32) new=> return keyCode; ucs = fl_utf8decode(keyText, NULL, NULL); return ucs2keysym(ucs); } This detects control key codes and prevents UTF8 decode for control key symbols. I think this is a major issue, because you cannot remote administrate a computer via command line (e.g. in xterm) with vnc if the control keys are not working. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- >Comment By: D. R. Commander (dcommander) Date: 2011-12-31 10:50 Message: Ignore previous comment. I figured out the issue. I have checked in a patch that should properly set the HAVE_FLTK* macros whenever USE_INCLUDED_FLTK=1. I've re-spun and re-posted the 1.2 beta build with this patch, so please retest. New packages are dated 12/31 with the following file sizes/MD5 sums: TigerVNC-1.1.90.dmg 2788214 49296acbe35b742e65d34ec8ae2f499b tigervnc-1.1.90.exe 5118120 307bb9325100b5ce795ef3d45f164ae5 tigervnc-1.1.90.tar.gz 2486577 d6f463a7cd1d1f7aab1d5657d36b3746 tigervnc64-1.1.90.exe 2170493 9a99af22a1c0af3ce851fd8194d5d432 tigervnc-Linux-i686-1.1.90.tar.gz 5666925 b7e2296d3506a80684784bf2c3810ea2 tigervnc-Linux-x86_64-1.1.90.tar.gz 5838641 9e7d2eb07bcec349a92b8d15bdc16f0c ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: D. R. Commander (dcommander) Date: 2011-12-31 09:49 Message: There was indeed a build system issue. It wasn't setting the HAVE_FLTK* macros whenever USE_INCLUDED_FLTK=1. Continuing this discussion on tigervnc-devel, because I ran into an issue when trying to fix it. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: dynamodan () Date: 2011-12-28 12:22 Message: Here's some more info. The way I found CTRL-C and CTRL-V non-working, was when I was using a text editor, jEdit. I assume it to be the same issue that werner-b found with xterm and cmd.exe. I've tested a few other places as well, including web browser etc. It is simply not working anywhere in a TigerVNC viewer session. Other things that involve the CTRL key do work, such as CTRL-click-drag in jEdit for rectangular selection, and CTRL-printscreen for screen capture. Thanks so much for the great product, I am otherwise enjoying TigerVNC immensely. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: dynamodan () Date: 2011-12-28 11:51 Message: CTRL-C and CTRL-V does not work with the beta build. I encountered this conversation just today after many months using TurboVNC which worked fine in this regard. TigerVNC does work a lot better in many regards. I'm using 1.1.90 (1.2beta1) straight from the sourceforge download page, on Ubuntu 10.04LTS 64-bit. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Werner B. (werner-b) Date: 2011-12-28 02:39 Message: FYI: I removed my "fix" and recompiled with USE_INCLUDED_FLTK=1. This does not help. DCommander: Can you confirm that (e.g.) Ctrl-C does not work with current beta build? ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: D. R. Commander (dcommander) Date: 2011-12-27 16:55 Message: All of my build scripts set USE_INCLUDED_FLTK=1, so that can't be the issue. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Comment By: Pierre Ossman (ossman_) Date: 2011-12-27 05:07 Message: Sounds like something went wrong with the build. This is the behaviour of an unmodified FLTK. But we have patches that make FLTK behave more sanely with Ctrl combinations. DRC, could you double check that you didn't get the system version of FLTK? ---------------------------------------------------------------------- You can respond by visiting: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=1126848&aid=3466037&group_id=254363 ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Ridiculously easy VDI. With Citrix VDI-in-a-Box, you don't need a complex infrastructure or vast IT resources to deliver seamless, secure access to virtual desktops. With this all-in-one solution, easily deploy virtual desktops for less than the cost of PCs and save 60% on VDI infrastructure costs. Try it free! http://p.sf.net/sfu/Citrix-VDIinabox _______________________________________________ Tigervnc-devel mailing list Tigervnc-devel@lists.sourceforge.net https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/tigervnc-devel