On Nov 23, 2016 11:05 PM, "John H. Reinhardt" <[email protected]> wrote: > > > On 11/23/2016 8:00 PM, Eric Christopherson wrote: >> >> On Wed, Nov 23, 2016, Michael Brutman wrote: >>> >>> Gmail routinely marks these emails as spam. And Gmail clearly says: " It >>> has a from address in aol.com but has failed aol.com's required tests for >>> authentication." >>> >>> Digging deeper into the header one finds: >>> >>> "Received-SPF: pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of >>> [email protected] designates 199.188.211.196 as permitted >>> sender) client-ip=199.188.211.196; >>> Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; >>> dkim=neutral (body hash did not verify) [email protected]; >>> spf=pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of >>> [email protected] designates 199.188.211.196 as permitted >>> sender) [email protected]; >>> dmarc=fail (p=REJECT dis=NONE) header.from=aol.com" >>> >>> >>> I'm no expert on dmarc, but that looks to be the source of the pain. >> >> >> Do we have any evidence that his messages are affecting the rest of us, >> though? >> > > I get disabled regularly. My address is at Yahoo. Currently I'm sitting at 2.0 out of 5.0 for my bounce score.
What's a bounce score, and how do you know what yours is and what the limit is? Does classiccmp specify 5.0, or Yahoo, or what? > The previous disabled messages came at: > > 11/20/2016 > 11/06/2016 > 10/25/2016 > 10/18/2016 > 10/13/2016 > 10/05/2016 > 09/26/2016 > 09/10/2016 > 08/23/2016 > 08/11/2016 > 08/06/2016 > 08/01/2016 > 07/19/2016 > 07/10/2016 > 07/01/2016 > > A fairly uneven distribution. None repeating sooner than 5 days and sometimes taking up to 18 days before hitting the 5.0 bounce limit. > > I was thinking of changing my email to another provider even though I've had this one for at least 12 years. But if it's because of a configuration problem, then other providers may react the same way so will it do any good? > > John H. Reinhardt
