Any part of "the boat" crossing the line is “finishing” and that includes the 
spinnaker itself, or spinnaker pole extended in normal sailing position 
(against the forestay when reaching if it is forward of the bow), but I don’t 
think it includes a crew member sticking their arm out the front (or rear) of 
the boat.  Now if we want to get really technical, how about if a crew member 
holds off the mark so the “boat” never touches it???  I am sure that violates 
the sprit of the rule but I don’t remember seeing that scenario in the rules.  
It is likely in a protest resolution somewhere (and undoubtedly ruled as 
touching the mark).   Dave

S/V Aries
1990 C&C 34+
New London, CT



> On Sep 23, 2020, at 2:35 PM, Andrew Burton <a.burton.sai...@gmail.com> wrote:
> 
> Does it say "the forward part of the bow" or the first part of the boat? I 
> can see a situation where the current takes the boat over the line 
> backwards... Or look up a set of pictures allied "The Agony of Mir" where a 
> yawl lost her main mast right before finishing the Transpac and finished 
> backwards under mizzen spinnaker.
> Andy
> 
> Andrew Burton
> 26 Beacon Hill
> Newport, RI 
> USA    02840
> 

_______________________________________________

Thanks everyone for supporting this list with your contributions.  Each and 
every one is greatly appreciated.  If you want to support the list - use PayPal 
to send contribution --   https://www.paypal.me/stumurray

Reply via email to