On Thu, 20 May 2004 15:34:02 -0400
David Megginson <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
> Lee Elliott wrote:
>>> I'm under a serious spam attack from an infected computer of someone
>>> on the>list.  Here is where the spam is originating:
>>>   user-24-214-247-18.knology.net
>> These e-mails almost certainly have spoofed 'From' addresses and just
>> about the only thing you can be sure of is that they don't come from
>> where they say they do.
> That's not the return address -- it's the last Received: header (i.e.
> the first hop that the e-mail took).  The infected user almost certainly
> had this domain, though his or her ISP might have a different name.  If
> anyone one the list has the IP address right now and is
> unfortunate enough to use Windows and Outlook, please disconnect your
> ethernet cable immediately and then get help disinfecting your system.

Right now, that address doesn't respond to pings.  A traceroute suggests
that it's dynamically assigned to users in Florida, and possibly south


Chris Metzler                   [EMAIL PROTECTED]
                (remove "snip-me." to email)

"As a child I understood how to give; I have forgotten this grace since I
have become civilized." - Chief Luther Standing Bear

Attachment: pgp7hTIMmYiY4.pgp
Description: PGP signature

Flightgear-devel mailing list

Reply via email to