I am seeing some inconsistent and strange results after the DST change this weekend. On all the boxes, it seems setup OK

# zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep 2007
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000 /etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400 /etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400 /etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 06:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

And the command "date" gives the correct time.

But until I restart some applications, I dont see the right times logged in syslog ?!

e.g
# date
Mon Mar 12 08:17:06 EDT 2007

And looking at BIND's entries to syslog, I see the correct timestamps

Mar 12 08:17:42 granite named[16080]: denied recursion for query from [198.73.192.129].1364 for 119.64.22.72.in-addr.arpa IN Mar 12 08:17:42 granite named[16080]: denied recursion for query from [198.73.192.129].1364 for 119.64.22.72.in-addr.arpa IN Mar 12 07:17:43 granite /kernel: Connection attempt to TCP 199.212.xx.x:995 from 74.97.26.112:53911 flags:0x02 Mar 12 08:17:50 granite named[16080]: denied update from [64.7.xx.90].2163 for "xxx.com" IN Mar 12 08:17:50 granite named[16080]: denied update from [64.7.xx.90].2163 for "xxx.com" IN

yet mixed in notice the /kernel entry... Its an hour off !?

if I restart syslogd, it corrects it for the kernel entry, but not for other applications. They all seem to log the time one hour back. Most applications seem this way. On my more recent boxes this didnt happen, but for some legacy RELENG_4 and older RELENG_5 and RELENG_6 boxes, the same odd behavior.

/etc/localtime looks the same on all the boxes

# md5 /etc/localtime
MD5 (/etc/localtime) = 82980b1345aab5a97d90307edfefb6da

[smtp1]% md5 /etc/localtime
MD5 (/etc/localtime) = 82980b1345aab5a97d90307edfefb6da
[smtp1]%

yet different behaviour.  Any idea whats up ?

        ---Mike


--------------------------------------------------------------------
Mike Tancsa,                                      tel +1 519 651 3400
Sentex Communications,                            [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Providing Internet since 1994                    www.sentex.net
Cambridge, Ontario Canada                         www.sentex.net/mike

_______________________________________________
freebsd-questions@freebsd.org mailing list
http://lists.freebsd.org/mailman/listinfo/freebsd-questions
To unsubscribe, send any mail to "[EMAIL PROTECTED]"

Reply via email to