Actually there is a crucial point of workflows that you are missing. In order to make workflows work well for everyone, everything should be done in approximately the same way. Each function in a GUI should use similar hotkeys, similar menu functions and all that. This was a well established reality of what we call "intuitive" meaning "we already know what to expect." "Save" in every program should behave like "Save" in most other programs. "Save As..." enhances save to enable someone to make changes in the name, location or format... just like in all other programs. This is the idea behind a unified GUI design and has been key to the success and adoption and usability of almost every program out there.

To make a car analogy, there is a reason why they are laid out the way they are. For example, every car has a steering wheel and not a yoke and not a lever. There was a time when that wasn't the case. Care to guess why that changed? There's a reason the manual (standard?) transmission was set up the way it was as well. There were any number of ways it could have been done and different car makers actually did lay their pedals out in different layouts. Many of them argued that one layout was better than another. But at the end of the day, "standard layout, design and behavior" won out for the very same reasons GUI layout, design and behavior does.

What's more? You probably use a standard keyboard layout even though there are more efficient ways to lay your keys out. Why is that? And why shouldn't your keyboard be changed out for each program you use while we're at it?

And here's the real issue why it's still a real issue. When one program does something so very differently from all the others in your workflows, that one program represents a requirement to stop and think which is, in fact, an interruption... of workflows.

Now it's not an interruption if you ONLY use GiMP. But since you're running an email program or a browser right now, chances are pretty good you do more than GiMP. So you probably already know what I'm talking about. So instead of letting you choose how to respond, let's just cut to the core purpose of this splinter in the fingers of so many users:

What is it that GiMP is attempting to accomplish with this departure from standard behavior? What was broken before that is fixed with this change? It's my understanding that it's so a lot of work on a project isn't lost through an accidental save... an accident which happens because of standard, default behaviors such as Ctrl+S saving in the format of the original file, overwriting the original file. Frankly, this is what I would consider to be an "Amateur mistake" to make...something professionals learn not to do -- usually the hard way.

To Joao:

As for being warned that data may be lost? That part of normal behavior for quite a few programs and this is completely acceptable behavior. If GiMP did that, it would also be acceptable but only if there were advanced features of the editing that might need to be saved such as multiple layers or a mask or alpha channel. And you skipped right past my point so I will ask it as direct and simple questions:

Do you believe most uses of GiMP is a full blown project? You know, with hours of work going into them?

Do you think most users of GiMP are more casual users who just want to crop, resize or otherwise make simple changes to their images? (It would be pointless to say 'then they should use something else because GiMP is far more powerful, blah blah blah' because even Photoshop users use it casually despite its bloated size and enormous capability.)

So it really comes back to what's broken about the normal way of doing things?

On 01/02/2014 07:45 PM, Steve Kinney wrote:
On 01/02/2014 06:17 PM, akovia wrote:

I've watched these threads come an go and I must be missing something.
When this new behavior first arrived, like everyone else I was used to
the old way and having to learn a new work-flow is never fun. Regardless
I just figured this was the way it was going to be so I adopted it
immediately. At this point I can't even remember exactly how things used
to work as the new way is now ingrained in my work-flow. What is so hard
about Ctrl+o to overwrite, or Shift-Ctrl+e to export?
B-B-B-But, control-e just isn't the same!  They say it's the same
but it isn't.

If I do control-e to save my image as a JPEG, then try to close the

I have to, to, to.... discard the state of the image in the editor!

They make me alt-d to close the image!



WHY, WHY, WHY in the name of God have they done this to me?

WHY did they have to RUIN my LIFE?!




gimp-user-list mailing list
List address:
List membership:
List archives:

gimp-user-list mailing list
List address:
List membership:
List archives:

Reply via email to