On Dec 1, 2:34 pm, Roddie Grant <rod...@myword.co.uk> wrote:

> I develop a website on my laptop, in a Git repository. On the staging server
> (for testing) there is another repository. From time to time I push from the
> development repository to the server repository, and then "git merge
> dev/master" on the server.
> I'm fairly new to Git, but this has worked well. But last night I must have
> done something wrong (I'm sure it was "operator error") but in two minutes I
> ended up with two blatantly different repositories, with both "the push" and
> "the merge" saying "Up to date", even though the server still had older
> versions of files.

I'm not sure, but may be your issue is described in [1] which
references [2],
and can be classified as a violation of the "never push into a
repository that has
a work tree attached to it, until you know what you are doing" rule?



You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Git 
for human beings" group.
To post to this group, send email to git-us...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to 
For more options, visit this group at 

Reply via email to