> > > Tracked down attacking IP address to 61.183.69.15.  How do I determine
> > who this
> > > belongs to as it is not registered in DNS?
>
> in your router, block 61.183/16
>
> Don't waste your time looking up the ip owners of these mofo's, just block
> em and re-load.
>
> >Why would our little old mail server be targeted by such
> >different IP subnets?
>
> It's a fertile races over there, there's a bunch more where these come from.
>
> I think the Central Committee filters Internet porn and has outlawed sex so
> these kiddies have to find their fun somewhere.
>
> Clearly, the iwebmsg cgi needs to defend itself, filter very tightly and
> drop all HTTP requests outside of the narrow range it is designed to handle.
>
> I set up an Apache web server on an new ip for one of my clients, it was a
> few days before he could around to uploading the .html files.  By then, the
> Apache log was over 500 mbytes from nimda, Code Red, and friends.
>
> There is just an astonishingly high, astonishingly constant level of
> background attacks.  I picture it as 100's of 1000's of monsters (some
> Ringhead knows their official name) down in that cave in Fellowship of the
> Rings.

Well, so far I have blocked:

  169.207.244.79
  172.194.194.235
  207.200.89.225
  207.214.90.19
  212.1.142.89
  218.25.45.241
  61.171.89.90
  61.174.133.217
  61.183/16
  61.70.248.154
  64.156.149.124
  64.168.23.33
  65.66.218.181
  66.232.6.11
  80.134.35.7

But I am sure that in a few days I will have a new batch to block.  Is this
normal to see for this Code Red virus?  Is anyone else having this problem?

Dan


Please visit http://www.ipswitch.com/support/mailing-lists.html 
to be removed from this list.

An Archive of this list is available at:
http://www.mail-archive.com/imail_forum%40list.ipswitch.com/

Please visit the Knowledge Base for answers to frequently asked
questions:  http://www.ipswitch.com/support/IMail/

Reply via email to