On Fri, 3 Mar 2000, Aussie wrote:
> After discussing these two possibilities with the owner of the
> business, he agreed that I should format and restart. I checked twice
> to ensure nothing he needed was on the local hard drive. His response
> was "Everything is saved to the network [server]."
[...]
> After being cursed by the owner for not saving the data and not
> backing it up, I reminded him that he had been asked twice before I
> formatted whether he had any information saved to the hard drive that
> needed to be saved and he had twice replied no. Further, he had been
> instructed to do a FULL backup and the end of the day immediately prior
> to my starting the upgrade. Although I was sorry he lost the data, it
> was ultimately his responsibility to ensure that no important data had
> been saved to the hard drive only and not to the network where it was
> supposed to be saved.
If I were to do a corporate upgrade such as this I would go through the
hard drive of every computer and search for any Excel, Word, etc
files and back them up -regardless- of what the user thinks. Always a
nice safety routine.
I also would have then formatted the hard drive of the machine in
question, but only when I was sure that I could copy the "questionable"
files back in the same place that they were.
Andrew.
--
SLUG - Sydney Linux Users Group Mailing List - http://www.slug.org.au
To unsubscribe send email to [EMAIL PROTECTED] with
unsubscribe in the text