/me nods

And the best part is alot of the bonehead isps dont use smtp servers that
actually check the ip they just blindly follow whatever is sent to them.
----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Doug White" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: "CF-Community" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Sent: Thursday, June 26, 2003 1:56 PM
Subject: Re: how stupid


> Only the IP number in the email header will reveal the true source of the
> virus-infected email.
>
> The from address is usually spoofed.
>
> ======================================
> Stop spam on your domain, use our gateway!
> For hosting solutions http://www.clickdoug.com
> ISP rated: http://www.forta.com/cf/isp/isp.cfm?isp_id=772
> ======================================
> If you are not satisfied with my service, my job isn't done!
>
> ----- Original Message ----- 
> From: "Jeff Garza" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> To: "CF-Community" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> Sent: Thursday, June 26, 2003 12:27 PM
> Subject: Re: how stupid
>
>
> | Actually, the Klez virus can take any email from the list it's sending
from
> | and use that email as the From and Reply-To fields.  This happend to my
mom.
> | I'm sure she doesn't have the Klez virus on her machine yet she still
gets
> | about 50 bounce messages a day from AOL.  One of the unpleasant
> | potentialities of dealing with Klez...  So, Dana, you probably never had
the
> | virus in the first place and AOL sucks for sending back the entire
message,
> | virus attachment and all..  Their mail gateway should delete the entier
> | message and send a digest of the transaction back to the "purported"
sender.
> |
> | Jeff
> |
> | ----- Original Message -----
> | From: "William Wheatley" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> | To: "CF-Community" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> | Sent: Thursday, June 26, 2003 10:18 AM
> | Subject: Re: how stupid
> |
> |
> | No i wasn't patronizing you but that error message by itself when you
read
> | it shows that it was rejecting a message you sent. Of course without all
the
> | facts thats the only conclusion one could come to.
> |
> | Does the virus send fake emails proporting to be from the ISP? Its easy
to
> | spoof mail and such that might be a fun virus to have to deal with fake
> | Daemon messages that actually have viruses.
> |
> |
> | ----- Original Message -----
> | From: "Dana Tierney" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> | To: "CF-Community" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> | Sent: Thursday, June 26, 2003 12:27 PM
> | Subject: Re: how stupid
> |
> |
> | > Ahem. AOL emailed me the sobig.e virus according to my Norton
antivirus.
> | > The email has an attachment labeled your_details.zip, which is per the
> | > specs for this virus. Naturally I did not open it. But the email is
not
> | > from [EMAIL PROTECTED]; the email is *from* AOL saying my email to her was not
> | > delivered because it has a virus. Which they helpfully included for
> | > reference. Now, from the top, this virus claims to be from people who
are
> | > also in the address book of the original sender. I do not know ruthj
and
> | > she is not in my address book, and I don't have this virus because
norton
> | > caught it in this email that AOL sent me.
> | >
> | > God I hate it when you patronize me, especially when you usually don't
> | have
> | > a good grasp of what is going on when you do it.
> | >
> | > Dana
> | >
> | > On Thu, 26 Jun 2003 12:18:19 -0400, William Wheatley <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> | > wrote:
> | >
> | > > That doesn't say aol sent you a virus that says whoever mailed that
ruth
> | > > person has a virus that was in their email and they had better fix
it.
> | > >
> | > > But either way aol is evil.
> | > >
> | > >
> | > > ----- Original Message ----- From: "Dana Tierney"
<[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> | > > To: "CF-Community" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> | > > Sent: Thursday, June 26, 2003 12:12 PM
> | > > Subject: Re: how stupid
> | > >
> | > >
> | > >> the AOL user didnt send me the virus. AOL did. I got the following,
> | with
> | > >> the virus as an attachment.
> | > >>
> | > >> The original message was received at Thu, 26 Jun 2003
06:09:09 -0400
> | > >> (EDT)
> | > >> from  [66.72.7.21]
> | > >>
> | > >> *** ATTENTION ***
> | > >> Your e-mail is being returned to you because there was a problem
with
> | > >> its
> | > >> delivery.  The address which was undeliverable is listed in the
section
> | > >> labeled: "----- The following addresses had permanent fatal
> | errors -----
> | > >> ".
> | > >> The reason your mail is being returned to you is listed in the
section
> | > >> labeled: "----- Transcript of Session Follows -----".
> | > >> The line beginning with "<<<" describes the specific reason your
e-mail
> | > >> could
> | > >> not be delivered.  The next line contains a second error message
which
> | > >> is
> | > > a
> | > >> general translation for other e-mail servers.
> | > >> Please direct further questions regarding this message to your
e-mail
> | > >> administrator.
> | > >> --AOL Postmaster
> | > >>
> | > >>
> | > >> ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
> | > >> <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> | > >> ----- Transcript of session follows -----
> | > >> ... while talking to air-xm03.mail.aol.com.:
> | > >> >>> DATA
> | > >> <<< 554 TRANSACTION FAILED - Unrepairable Virus Detected. Your mail
has
> | > > not
> | > >> been sent.
> | > >> 554 <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>... Service unavailable
> | > >>
> | > >> On Thu, 26 Jun 2003 10:59:06 -0500, Matt Blatchley ~ Bridgeleaf
Studios
> | > >> <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
> | > >>
> | > >> > Dana,
> | > >> >
> | > >> > I run into similar issues with AOL users.  I have a few clients
who
> | > >> > refuse
> | > >> > to use the email addresses I setup for them and they send me
virus's
> | > >> too
> | > >> > stating I sent it to them.  Big pain in the ass because I've
> | requested
> | > >> a
> | > >> > response from the folks at AOL, but like you said, the level of
> | > >> response
> | > >> > is
> | > >> > by someone part time and doesn't give two shiznitz about anyone
other
> | > >> > than
> | > >> > their own customers, and that's only if they bitch consistently.
I'd
> | > >> > love
> | > >> > to rant about them two, but I'll spare the rest of the list my
> | opinion
> | > > on
> | > >> > that issue seeing as how they can all assume my feelings on that
one
> | > >> > anyway.
> | > >> > I feel for ya!
> | > >> >
> | > >> > Matt
> | > >> >
> | > >> >
> | > >> > -----Original Message-----
> | > >> > From: Dana Tierney [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]
> | > >> > Sent: Thursday, June 26, 2003 10:34 AM
> | > >> > To: CF-Community
> | > >> > Subject: how stupid
> | > >> >
> | > >> >
> | > >> > (rant)
> | > >> > I was complaining yesterday about getting a little notice
scolding me
> | > > for
> | > >> > allegedly sending a virus to somebody I don't know in Finland.
The
> | > >> virus
> | > >> > in
> | > >> > question puts names from the true sender's address book in the
"from"
> | > >> > field, but apparently the system in question is not set up to
check
> | ip
> | > >> > addresses.
> | > >> >
> | > >> > I ran an extra virus scan last night to be sure, and no, I don't
have
> | > >> > this
> | > >> > virus. I would not expect to as my virus software scans incoming
> | mail.
> | > >> >
> | > >> > This scan works, as demonstrated by the fact that this morning it
> | > >> warned
> | > >> > me
> | > >> > that someone emailed me a virus. Come to find out it is AOL,
> | > >> complaining
> | > >> > that I sent this virus to [EMAIL PROTECTED], whom I do not know.
> | > >> >
> | > >> > The truly astounding thing is that *they mailed the virus to
me* --
> | is
> | > >> > that
> | > >> > supposed to prove something? What if I did not in fact have up to
> | date
> | > >> > software? I used to work at AOL so I am well past expecting
> | > >> intelligence
> | > >> > from them, but geez, this practice is a threat to the health of
the
> | > >> > internet. Too bad it doesn't have a WHO.
> | > >> >
> | > >> > (end rant)
> | > >> > Dana
> | > >> >
> | > >> >
> | > >> > --
> | > >> > Mr Jones and me
> | > >> > We're stumbling through the barrio....
> | > >> >
> | > >> >
> | > >> >
> | > >>
> | > >
> | >
> |
> |
> 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~|
Archives: http://www.houseoffusion.com/cf_lists/index.cfm?forumid=5
Subscription: 
http://www.houseoffusion.com/cf_lists/index.cfm?method=subscribe&forumid=5

Host with the leader in ColdFusion hosting. 
Voted #1 ColdFusion host by CF Developers. 
Offering shared and dedicated hosting options. 
www.cfxhosting.com/default.cfm?redirect=10481

                                Unsubscribe: 
http://www.houseoffusion.com/cf_lists/unsubscribe.cfm?user=89.70.5
                                

Reply via email to