Scot,

Great explanation...well since most of my users are using Outlook 2000 I
just have to make sure they check the option that says "leave copy of
messages on the server", but don't check the box that says "remove from
server when deleted from "Deleted Items"...I believe this is the "purge"
feature you was talking about.  Correct me if I'm wrong anytime  :-)

--------------------------------------------------------
Angel Castillo, MCSE, MCP+I    Jobs.com
IMail System Administrator          www.jobs.com
[EMAIL PROTECTED]                          Voice: (214) 273-7629
"When you love what you do...you're alive!"


-----Original Message-----
From: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
[mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]On Behalf Of Scot Desort
Sent: Thursday, April 20, 2000 5:52 PM
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: RE: [IMail Forum] IMAP Explanation


Angel-

Yes, the mail is kept in the user's mbx file.

When a user "deletes" an message using an IMAP client, the message isn't
actually physically deleted at first. It is simply "flagged" as deleted on
the the IMAP server. Until the user purges the mailbox (some clients do it
automatically on exit, some are setup to make the user manually purge the
box), the messages usually show up in the client's inbox with some sort of
mark indicating it is a deleted message (in outlook, the entire message
header gets a line through it, in some versions of outlook express, the
message gets a red X on the left).

When a client is setup to use IMAP to access a mailbox, all mail is
automatically set to "leave on the server" -- I don't even think there is a
way to turn that off. That option is a POP3 feature. In order for your
customer to be able to "re-read" messages off of the server from every
location they may be at, they must:

1. Have all of their client computers set to access the mailbox via IMAP
2. Have all of their client computers set NOT to auto-purge messages
3. If they are using the IMAIL web client, they must set the Delete option
in their preferences to "Move deleted message to Deleted Items folder",
instead of the default setting, "Purge Message"

With these settings, even if they "delete" every message, as long as they
don't manually purge them, they will be able to login from another IMAP
client, and still see and read every message. The deleted messages will have
a line or X through them, but they are still there and can usually even be
"undeleted".

HTH.

--
Scot



> -----Original Message-----
> From: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
> [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]On Behalf Of Angel Castillo
> Sent: Thursday, April 20, 2000 3:43 PM
> To: Ipswitch List
> Subject: [IMail Forum] IMAP Explanation
>
>
> Ok, I know what IMAP is and what it's used for but something's
> are not clear
> because I guess I don't see them in action.  I have my IMail
> server running
> POP3, SMTP, and IMAP.
>
> My question is this:  Where are the messages kept since IMAP is suppose to
> keep them on the server?  Is it in the main.mbx of the user's
> folder?  If a
> user deleted all their mail for that day and did have the client set up to
> keep copies on the server via their Outlook client, how would I go about
> setting it up so they can re-download their e-mail off the server?
>
> --------------------------------------------------------
> Angel Castillo, MCSE, MCP+I    Jobs.com
> IMail System Administrator          www.jobs.com
> [EMAIL PROTECTED]                          Voice: (214) 273-7629
> "When you love what you do...you're alive!"
>
> Please visit http://www.ipswitch.com/support/mailing-lists.html
> to be removed from this list.

Please visit http://www.ipswitch.com/support/mailing-lists.html
to be removed from this list.

Please visit http://www.ipswitch.com/support/mailing-lists.html 
to be removed from this list.

Reply via email to