well, insurance isnt really a problem as the only people will touch me now coz i lost my licence are just car, and they dont care about forced induction :)
hmm, when the time come, im might keep my eye out for a F9 or wlf 2d 2nd hand ...they normally go for under $500 right?? -----Original Message----- From: Tom Richardson <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] Date: Sun, 18 Aug 2002 16:23:27 +0930 Subject: Re: r30 l24e Ben, Then don't add the supercharger, it's very difficult to do forced induction cheaply. I think you'd be better off sticking with a naturally aspirated engine. If you want to modify it, fit a decent exhaust, then piss the pos vane airflow meter off, chuck it in the bin, and use a hotwire or map based Delco setup (like VS Commo) with a really big plenum and throttlebody, and add a mild cam if you want. It'd cost less than fitting a supercharger and you don't have to lie to your insurance company. Cheers, - Tom Ben C wrote: >i dont really wanna go spending big $$ on it, thats why id like to just leave the >stock ecu with it, and use the SC just to give it a bit more poke > >-----Original Message----- >From: Tom Richardson <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> >To: [EMAIL PROTECTED] >Date: Sun, 18 Aug 2002 15:46:17 +0930 >Subject: Re: r30 l24e > >Ben, > >In short, it's not worth wasting your time with the R30 management. Try >adapting a Delco 808 ECU and loom, you'll not only get enough fuel for >150kw with 6 stock VS Commodore injectors, but it's cheap, easily >reprogamable, and can deal quite well with forced induction. When you >change to low comp pistons, it would be a good idea to change to early >L24 conrods because they have bigger rod bolts (9mm vs 8mm L24E) > >Cheers, > >- Tom > >Ben C wrote: > > > >>looking into what car to get as a daily driver, as i dont think my sr20det bluey >will be a good choice. >> >>i really like the R30 skyline, and i love the L motors. so i was thinking of getting >a r30 with the L24e..(im not going back to carbies) just some questions >> >>1. when the motor dies, ill give it a rebuild. was thinking of putting lower comp >pistons in, and running a toyota SC14 s'charger, with 7-8 psi. will the factory ECU >be able to handle this, if i just remap the dizzy?? or what would be the max boost i >could run using the stock ecu >> >>2. what is a nice straight l24e r30 worth?? im not really fussed about the mechanics >> >>cheers >>ben >> >>PS, sorry if you recieve multiple copies of this, as the web-based mail client im >using (becoz im not at home) seems to send more that one... >> >> >> >> >> >> > > > > > > > > > --membersozdat------------------------------------------------------- OZDAT Mailing List Please Note:- Send (un)subscribe requests to [EMAIL PROTECTED] Send submissions to [EMAIL PROTECTED] No unauthorised redistribution of this email http://www.ozdat.com/ozdatonline/index.htm http://www.ozdat.com/ozdatonline/listindex.html http://www.mail-archive.com/[email protected]/ ---------------------------------------------------------------------
