Miriya52 edited the task description. (Show Details)

Typical working hours: M-F start 8-9am, end 5pm (Mountain Time Zone). I'm an early to bed, early to rise person. I'm usually up at 4:30am, but I do a morning swim workout to start my day.

**Synopsis**= Synopsis =
This project will be to develop a Python library to serialize Wikimedia Quiz format, GIFT quiz format, and perhaps other quiz formats. This library will take a Wikiversity quiz and allow export to other quiz formats.

Possible Mentors: John Vandenberg, Mvolz

**Deliverables**= Deliverables =
Please describe the details and the timeline of the work you plan to accomplish on the project you are most interested in (discuss these first with the mentor of the project).
One of the goals is that a new github repo and pypi package would be created for the generic and re-usable functionality . That package would then be used by Pywikibot as required to perform bot operations. However the package should also be usable for other applications and purposes.

**Proposed Schedule**= Proposed Schedule =

The internship period is from Dec. 6, 2016 to March 6, 2016. Weekly progress reports will be posted on Friday of each week. Midterm and Final reports will be posted as specified in timeline.
| Mar 6 | Final evaluation due

**Participation**= Participation =
We don't just want to know what you plan to accomplish; we want to know how. Briefly describe your work style: how you plan to communicate progress, where you plan to publish your source code while you're working, how and where you plan to ask for help. (We will tend to favor applicants that demonstrate a clear vision for what it means to be an active participant in our development community.)

- Project updates and progress will be documented [[ https://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/User:Miriya52/PythonLibrary_serialize_Wikimedia_Quiz_format | here ]].
- Source code will be published on GitHub and packaged in pypi.

**About m= About me =

**Education and Work Experienc
I have a M.S. degree in Robotics from Carnegie Mellon University and B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences from University of California, Berkeley. After graduate school, I worked as a Microdevices Engineer for 4.5 years at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory supporting research on extreme environment sensors. I then decided I wanted to apply my tech skills to benefit the environment (on Earth) and worked as a general purpose hardware/software engineer at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (U.S. Dept. of Energy) supporting energy policy research.

**How did I learn about Outreachy?**
I heard about the Outreachy program through social media, and thought this was an excellent opportunity to work on an open source project with guidance from mentors. I am only applying for Outreachy (not eligible for GSoC).

**Time commitment during internship period**
I plan to work full-time from Dec 6, 2016 to March 6, 2017. I do not have any planned vacations during that time. I also volunteer (5 hrs per week) as a project manager for a non-profit called Code for Community (Code4C) to build a software enhancement or feature for other non-profits. The time I spend on Code4C will be outside of the (at least) 40 hours per week that I have planned for Outreachy.

**Open source community**
I am excited to be giving back to open source since I have been able to use many open source libraries and packages for my projects. I also like the community aspect of open source. Just this past year, I really enjoyed the experience of attending PyCon, and also looking forward to attending PyCon Canada in November 2016. I like building systems that are useful, and writing code for open source and MediaWiki will be a benefit to many users. The feature I would be building for this project is an enhancement for Wikiversity. I have taken MOOCs and it would be an honor to be able to contribute to an open online educational site.

**Past experience**= Past experience =
I developed in Python, mostly on Linux, for our projects at LBNL to understand energy use in buildings and on the distribution grid. I used several FOSS python modules and libraries to build these systems.

At LBNL, I built systems that used open source systems created by graduate students at the UC Berkeley [[ https://github.com/SoftwareDefinedBuildings | Software Defined Buildings ]] group. I also used many Python modules including requests, matplotlib, django, flask, etc. During these years of using these open source packages, I was amazed at what was available for free, built by people around the world. It was also fun to explore different possibilities and features, and since it was all free, I could try building many things just with a basic Linux platform.

**= Any other info**info =
Most of my development for my LBNL were in private repos, subject to IP agreements and such. [[ https://github.com/anna-liao/Misc/blob/master/Gridium-Go-clean.ipynb | Here ]] is an example of my code to implement a move in Go. I wrote this during a 3 hour flight.

**See also**= See also =
Add other links that might be relevant. (optional)



To: Miriya52
Cc: Psychoslave, Evanontario, Aklapper, jayvdb, pywikibot-bugs-list, Jsalsman, Ajraddatz, Crochet.david, He7d3r, Bawolff, Ricordisamoa, Rajdeep594, Pavithirakc, Shrutika719, 01tonythomas, Sumit, Yland_S, Mvolz, MayS, Miriya52, Nes, Riddlesj, Sek2016, Enandwani, riyafa, PuriDilip, Pahadiahimanshu, Manrajsinghgrover, Renepick, Wesalius, Jay8g
pywikibot-bugs mailing list

Reply via email to