--- In Zen_Forum@yahoogroups.com, kahtychen <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:

> A long time ago
> I went on a journey
> Right to the corner
> Of the eastern ocean.
> The road there
> Was long and winding,
> And stormy waves
> Barred my path.
> What made me
> Go this way?
>   - T'ao Chi'ien (372-427 AD)

Thanks so  much for that amazing poem by T'ao Chien, Kahty. Wow ... what 
metaphors. It's one of my new favorites as well :-) 

On the Abhidharmakosa, you might want to head over to a college/university 
library near 
you and see what is in the stacks. Most college libraries have inter-library 
loans that let's 
you check books out from major university libraries. I'm not sure if you'll 
find anything 
complete (and "credible") on the web right now on the Abhidharmakosa.

Thanks for sharing aspects of your journey :-). You have had a long and winding 
road :-) - 
Can you hear the roar of the Eastern Ocean?

"What the Buddha Taught" by Walpola Rahula is one of my personal favorites. I 
was born 
and raised Buddhist but didn't make a serious inquire until the 70's. "What the 
Taught" was a seminal book for me back in the day. I still have my original 
copy. (The price 
on my copy says $2.95) :-)

Ok, here's a paste from your previous post asking about dharma lists. I'll give 
it a crack:

The Two Vehicles?
The Three Realms and their Nine Grounds?
The Three or more Domains?
The Three Natures, Modes of Knowledge, and States?
The Five (or 51?) Universally Interactive Dharmas?
The Five, Eight and/or Ten Precepts?
The Eight Consciousnesses?

The Two Vehicles: Could this be the two vehicles of Hinayana and Mahayana 
(known in 
Sanskrit as the dviyana or the "Two vehicles")

The Three Realms and their Nine Grounds: The names of the Three Realms 
(Trailokya or 
Triloka) vary. The most common list is as follows 1) Kamadhatu (the realm of 
desire; 2) Rupadhatu (the realm of form); 3) Arupadhatu (the formless realm. 
These Three 
Realms are then "redivided" into 9 "grounds"/"realms"/"states or stages of 
meditation". In 
this redivision, the Kamadhatu is the first "ground"; the "Rupadhatu" is the 
next four 
grounds; Arupadhatu is the final four grounds. Anyway, the Nine grounds are 1) 
desire realm with the 5 gatis --> hells, hungry ghosts, animals, men and devas 
(This is 
our realm); 2) The realm of the first Buddhist dhyana; 3) The realm of the 
second dhyana; 
4) The realm of the third dhyana' 5) The realm of the fourth dhyana; 5)The Pure 
Land of 
abandonment of thought; 6) The ground of Infinite Space (The realm of th first 
samadhi); 7) The ground of Omniscience; 8) The ground of "nothingness"; 9) The 
of neither consciousnes nor non-consciousness

The Three or more Domains - ? Need more to go on

The Three Natures, Modes of Knowledge, and States: ? Several lists - Need more 
to go on 
if these are grouped together

The Five (or 51?) Universally Interactive Dharmas - ?

The Five, Eight and/or Ten Precepts: 
The 5 = "panca veramani" --> precepts against 1)killing, 2)stealing, 3)adultry, 
4)lying and 
5)intoxicating drinks). These 5 precepts are binding for lay Buddhists (male 
and female) as 
well as monks and nums. It is said in the Vinaya that the observance of these 
five ensures 
rebirth in the human realm. 

The Eight is the above 5 plus the precept 6) against cosmetics (some lists 
specify just 
perfumes), personal adornments;7) against sleeping on fine beds or broad mats; 
eating after regulation hours (i.e., after noon). These are binding for novice 
monks and 

The Ten is the above plus the precept 9)against 
watching/listening/participating in 
singing, dancing, musical or theatrical performances; 10)against aquiring money 
or jewels.

In the Mahayana vinaya, sometimes the 10 is given as follows: 1) not to kill; 
2) not to steal; 
3) not to commit adultry; 4) not to lie; 5) not to slander; 6) not to insult; 
7) not to chatter; 
8) not to covet; 9) not to give way to anger; 10) not to harbour any 
scepticism. These 10 
are binding for everyone

The Eight Consciousnesses (asta vijnanai): This a list that belongs exclusively 
to the 
Yogacara or Vijnanavada school:

1. The consciousness of seeing (caksur-vijnana)
2.  The consciousness of hearing (srota-vijnana)
3)  The consciousness of smelling (ghrana-vijnana)
4) The consciousness of tasting (jihva-vijnana)
5)  The consciousness of touch (kaya-vijnana)
6)  The consciousness of "mind" or "thought" (mano-vijnana)
7)   The consciousness that is the root of all illusion  --> the construction 
of Self or atman 
takes places here (klista-mano-vijnana)
8)  The "store-house" consciousness -->the source of the preceeding 7 (alaya 

------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor --------------------~--> 
Check out the new improvements in Yahoo! Groups email.

Current Book Discussion: any Zen book that you recently have read or are 
reading! Talk about it today! 
Yahoo! Groups Links

<*> To visit your group on the web, go to:

<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:

<*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:

Reply via email to