Dana,
I run into similar issues with AOL users. I have a few clients who refuse
to use the email addresses I setup for them and they send me virus's too
stating I sent it to them. Big pain in the ass because I've requested a
response from the folks at AOL, but like you said, the level of response is
by someone part time and doesn't give two shiznitz about anyone other than
their own customers, and that's only if they bitch consistently. I'd love
to rant about them two, but I'll spare the rest of the list my opinion on
that issue seeing as how they can all assume my feelings on that one anyway.
I feel for ya!
Matt
-----Original Message-----
From: Dana Tierney [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]
Sent: Thursday, June 26, 2003 10:34 AM
To: CF-Community
Subject: how stupid
(rant)
I was complaining yesterday about getting a little notice scolding me for
allegedly sending a virus to somebody I don't know in Finland. The virus in
question puts names from the true sender's address book in the "from"
field, but apparently the system in question is not set up to check ip
addresses.
I ran an extra virus scan last night to be sure, and no, I don't have this
virus. I would not expect to as my virus software scans incoming mail.
This scan works, as demonstrated by the fact that this morning it warned me
that someone emailed me a virus. Come to find out it is AOL, complaining
that I sent this virus to [EMAIL PROTECTED], whom I do not know.
The truly astounding thing is that *they mailed the virus to me* -- is that
supposed to prove something? What if I did not in fact have up to date
software? I used to work at AOL so I am well past expecting intelligence
from them, but geez, this practice is a threat to the health of the
internet. Too bad it doesn't have a WHO.
(end rant)
Dana
--
Mr Jones and me
We're stumbling through the barrio....
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~|
Archives: http://www.houseoffusion.com/cf_lists/index.cfm?forumid=5
Subscription:
http://www.houseoffusion.com/cf_lists/index.cfm?method=subscribe&forumid=5
Get the mailserver that powers this list at
http://www.coolfusion.com
Unsubscribe:
http://www.houseoffusion.com/cf_lists/unsubscribe.cfm?user=89.70.5