That doesn't say aol sent you a virus that says whoever mailed that ruth
person has a virus that was in their email and they had better fix it.

But either way aol is evil.


----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Dana Tierney" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: "CF-Community" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Sent: Thursday, June 26, 2003 12:12 PM
Subject: Re: how stupid


> the AOL user didnt send me the virus. AOL did. I got the following, with
> the virus as an attachment.
>
> The original message was received at Thu, 26 Jun 2003 06:09:09 -0400 (EDT)
> from  [66.72.7.21]
>
>  *** ATTENTION ***
>  Your e-mail is being returned to you because there was a problem with its
> delivery.  The address which was undeliverable is listed in the section
> labeled: "----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----".
>  The reason your mail is being returned to you is listed in the section
> labeled: "----- Transcript of Session Follows -----".
>  The line beginning with "<<<" describes the specific reason your e-mail
> could
> not be delivered.  The next line contains a second error message which is
a
> general translation for other e-mail servers.
>  Please direct further questions regarding this message to your e-mail
> administrator.
>  --AOL Postmaster
>
>
>  ----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
> <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
>  ----- Transcript of session follows -----
> ... while talking to air-xm03.mail.aol.com.:
> >>> DATA
> <<< 554 TRANSACTION FAILED - Unrepairable Virus Detected. Your mail has
not
> been sent.
> 554 <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>... Service unavailable
>
> On Thu, 26 Jun 2003 10:59:06 -0500, Matt Blatchley ~ Bridgeleaf Studios
> <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
>
> > Dana,
> >
> > I run into similar issues with AOL users.  I have a few clients who
> > refuse
> > to use the email addresses I setup for them and they send me virus's too
> > stating I sent it to them.  Big pain in the ass because I've requested a
> > response from the folks at AOL, but like you said, the level of response
> > is
> > by someone part time and doesn't give two shiznitz about anyone other
> > than
> > their own customers, and that's only if they bitch consistently.  I'd
> > love
> > to rant about them two, but I'll spare the rest of the list my opinion
on
> > that issue seeing as how they can all assume my feelings on that one
> > anyway.
> > I feel for ya!
> >
> > Matt
> >
> >
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Dana Tierney [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]
> > Sent: Thursday, June 26, 2003 10:34 AM
> > To: CF-Community
> > Subject: how stupid
> >
> >
> > (rant)
> > I was complaining yesterday about getting a little notice scolding me
for
> > allegedly sending a virus to somebody I don't know in Finland. The virus
> > in
> > question puts names from the true sender's address book in the "from"
> > field, but apparently the system in question is not set up to check ip
> > addresses.
> >
> > I ran an extra virus scan last night to be sure, and no, I don't have
> > this
> > virus. I would not expect to as my virus software scans incoming mail.
> >
> > This scan works, as demonstrated by the fact that this morning it warned
> > me
> > that someone emailed me a virus. Come to find out it is AOL, complaining
> > that I sent this virus to [EMAIL PROTECTED], whom I do not know.
> >
> > The truly astounding thing is that *they mailed the virus to me* -- is
> > that
> > supposed to prove something? What if I did not in fact have up to date
> > software? I used to work at AOL so I am well past expecting intelligence
> > from them, but geez, this practice is a threat to the health of the
> > internet. Too bad it doesn't have a WHO.
> >
> > (end rant)
> > Dana
> >
> >
> > --
> > Mr Jones and me
> > We're stumbling through the barrio....
> >
> >
> >
> 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~|
Archives: http://www.houseoffusion.com/cf_lists/index.cfm?forumid=5
Subscription: 
http://www.houseoffusion.com/cf_lists/index.cfm?method=subscribe&forumid=5

Host with the leader in ColdFusion hosting. 
Voted #1 ColdFusion host by CF Developers. 
Offering shared and dedicated hosting options. 
www.cfxhosting.com/default.cfm?redirect=10481

                                Unsubscribe: 
http://www.houseoffusion.com/cf_lists/unsubscribe.cfm?user=89.70.5
                                

Reply via email to