Richard. As far as I can tell from what I have read in the past, The Australian government has a lot to do with what the manufacturers tune their cars at. I am pritty sure, lets say holdens commwhore V8 has been capped in power out put for years now with only very little improvement. Only because it is a V8, where the V6 with the supercharger is getting very close to the same power output. If Holden played a little with the EFI to get a little bit more out of the V6 and they actually came up with the same power outputs as the V8 they would loose that market to either Ford or even in their eyes heaven forebid import cars, and that would meen job losses for Australians working in their plants and a huge loss in sales through the whole range. That is my thoughts on the subject. P.S. years ago when the copas were still driving the VN's I was pulled over by this V8 powered commodore police vehicle just before margaret river down south. And man that thing had had some work done to it. It flew past me in the other direction and I watched it keep going, I could see the tailights everytime it went over a hill in the distance and I thought I was deffinatly safe and it wasn't coming back for me. Haa haa. Yea right. I saw in the very far distance him hit the hand brake and spin around, I was like haa haa it will never get me, as it was miles away. I was wrong I was looking for a side road to go down and before I knew it it was on my tail, I was doing over 110. I pulled over got out of the car and only got a warning, This VN was shaking from left to right more than a epileptic having a fit. There was some serious dollars spent under that bonnet. It deffinatly would not of passed emissions. Mind you it would have to be one of the nicest Police vehicles I have ever seen. And all I got out of him was it was stock mate. Haa haa Yer right. It was closer to a touring car than a stock VN. Later. Rick White.
--- "Richard Webb" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote: >Is it true that you can actually get more out of your N/A engine just by >having it reprogrammed. Wouldnt the manufacturer be spending money on >working out what got the most performance out of the car. I had a mate who >used to work in a place who chipped cars and he reakons it was a load of >sh*t for N/A cars and most would get under 5% improvement... He said most of >the turboed cars got a bigger gain. Im sick of ppl telling me they have "the >same chip the police have". Can someone tell me whether they actually do >anything. Cos mates tend to talk crap when they have had a few :) > >Richard >----- Original Message ----- >From: "Richie bokes" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> >To: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> >Sent: Saturday, September 28, 2002 2:09 PM >Subject: Off Topic > > >> Hey Mate >> >> You wouldn't happen to knwo anything about chips for holdens. I have a vr >> ute an di am wanting to get a chip that will give me more power. I know >you >> can get them i just dont knwo where you can get them. I saw that you had >> some stuff on holdens and i was wondering if you could help me out. >> >> Cheers >> >> Rich >> >> _________________________________________________________________ >> Send and receive Hotmail on your mobile device: http://mobile.msn.com >> > _____________________________________________________________ Get Your free Ozdat Email Account ---> http://www.ozdat.com _____________________________________________________________ Select your own custom email address for FREE! Get [EMAIL PROTECTED] w/No Ads, 6MB, POP & more! http://www.everyone.net/selectmail?campaign=tag --membersozdat------------------------------------------------------- OZDAT Mailing List Please Note:- Send (un)subscribe requests to [EMAIL PROTECTED] Send submissions to [EMAIL PROTECTED] No unauthorised redistribution of this email http://www.ozdat.com/ozdatonline/index.htm http://www.ozdat.com/ozdatonline/listindex.html http://www.mail-archive.com/[email protected]/ ---------------------------------------------------------------------
