On 11/01/2011, at 8:13 AM, Peter Hinchliffe wrote:

> 
> 
> On 10/01/2011, at 4:55 PM, Severin Crisp wrote:
> 
>> When sending emails with images as attachments from Mail to Windows users, 
>> there is a complaint that the images display but are not seen as saveable as 
>> attachments should be.   There is no problem with Mail to Mail emails and I 
>> can see nothing relevant in Mail settings.  
>> Has anyone any words of wisdom on this, please.  
>> Severin Crisp
> 
> One thing that seems to work is to make sure that, before you send the 
> attachment, right click on it (if it displayed as an image in your composed 
> message) and choose "View as Icon" from the popup menu, then make sure that 
> you place the attachment at the very bottom of the message. I'm still not 
> sure why this should make a difference, but it seems to.

Hi Severin & Peter,

When you right-click on an image & choose "View as Icon" from the contextual 
menu, this affects only your view, not the way it appears to the recipient. 
Even though a file appears as an icon on your screen, it may appear inline on 
the recipient’s screen. 

To be certain that a graphic does not appear inline, you must compress the file 
before attaching it—Mail, sadly, lacks a built-in compression option. 
The easiest way to compress a file (in Windows-friendly Zip format) using 
Leopard or Snow Leopard  is to select the file in the Finder and choose File > 
Compress "filename".
In Tiger, select the file in the Finder and choose File > Create Archive of 
"filename".

Always use Windows-friendly attachments: Sending attachments in “Windows 
friendly” format (omits resource forks, if they exist).
To tell Mail to use Windows-friendly encoding for all new messages, choose Edit 
> Attachments > Send Windows-Friendly Attachments.

Use rich text format for graphics: Although it’s no guarantee of what will show 
up on the other end, you’ll improve your odds of having graphics show up 
correctly if you use rich text rather than plain text.

Always include file extensions: Extensions at the end of a file’s name.

Place Attachments at the bottom of an email (below your Signature)

To force them to go to the bottom of the message: For a single message, with 
that message window open: choose Edit > Attachments > Insert Attachments at End 
of Message. 

For all messages, with no message window open: Choose Edit > Attachments > 
Always Insert Attachments at End of Message. 
This does not affect whether an attachment appears as an icon. 

I  send a lot of images as attachments to Windows Users and have not had any of 
the recipients experiencing any problems.
I always use the above recommendations which are found in "Take Control Of 
Apple Mail in Snow Leopard".


Cheers,
Ronni

17" MacBook Pro  Intel Core i7
2.66GHz / 8GB / 1067 MHz DDR3 / 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200rpm

OS X 10.6.6 Snow Leopard
Windows 7 Ultimate (under sufferance)











-- The WA Macintosh User Group Mailing List --
Archives - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/archives.shtml>
Guidelines - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/guidelines.shtml>
Unsubscribe - <mailto:[email protected]>