Hi again Peter,

I forgot to mention that if you wanted to see what images (& their numbers) in 
the Archive.zip.
Select the "Archive.zip" file,  go to File > Quick Look "Archive.zip"
You 
Cheers,
Ronni

On 11/01/2011, at 11:37 AM, Ronda Brown wrote:

> Hi Peter,
> 
> You can compress several different files into one single archive file — just 
> Command-click (or Shift-click contiguous files) on all the files you want 
> included, then choose File > "Compress x Items"
> A file will be created named “Archive.zip"
> .
> 
> Sent from Ronni's iPad
> 
> On 11/01/2011, at 10:54 AM, "Crisp, Peter" <[email protected]> wrote:
> 
>> Thanks for this Ronni. I understand the process if it is for one jpg but if 
>> it is for numerous jpg files when selecting randomly (using the Control 
>> button), to then go off to the finder and replicate the selections is very 
>> difficult without knowing the image numbers – maybe there is a thumbnail 
>> view in Finder which would emulate this process and allow a bulk zipping of 
>> numerous jpg files – but I am sat at my Windows machine right now and not 
>> sure till this evening to check fully.
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> Windows for all it foibles, does this very elegantly and painlessly in 
>> Picasa (a freebie download) giving the option of compression amount 
>> (small/medium/large jpg) and attachment of the jpg (or numerous randomly 
>> selected jpg’s) in a conventional way too (as opposed to embedded images). 
>> Not that this helps the Mac users at all.
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> Regards
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> Peter..
>> 
>> From: [email protected] [mailto:[email protected]] On Behalf 
>> Of Ronda Brown
>> Sent: Tuesday, 11 January 2011 9:55 AM
>> To: WAMUG Mailing List
>> Subject: Re: Attachments/Displayed
>> 
>>  
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> On 11/01/2011, at 8:13 AM, Peter Hinchliffe wrote:
>> 
>> 
>> 
>> 
>> 
>> 
>> On 10/01/2011, at 4:55 PM, Severin Crisp wrote:
>> 
>> 
>> 
>> When sending emails with images as attachments from Mail to Windows users, 
>> there is a complaint that the images display but are not seen as saveable as 
>> attachments should be.   There is no problem with Mail to Mail emails and I 
>> can see nothing relevant in Mail settings.  
>> 
>> Has anyone any words of wisdom on this, please.  
>> 
>> Severin Crisp
>> 
>> 
>> One thing that seems to work is to make sure that, before you send the 
>> attachment, right click on it (if it displayed as an image in your composed 
>> message) and choose "View as Icon" from the popup menu, then make sure that 
>> you place the attachment at the very bottom of the message. I'm still not 
>> sure why this should make a difference, but it seems to.
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> Hi Severin & Peter,
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> When you right-click on an image & choose "View as Icon" from the contextual 
>> menu, this affects only your view, not the way it appears to the recipient. 
>> Even though a file appears as an icon on your screen, it may appear inline 
>> on the recipient’s screen. 
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> To be certain that a graphic does not appear inline, you must compress the 
>> file before attaching it—Mail, sadly, lacks a built-in compression option. 
>> 
>> The easiest way to compress a file (in Windows-friendly Zip format) using 
>> Leopard or Snow Leopard  is to select the file in the Finder and choose File 
>> > Compress "filename".
>> 
>> In Tiger, select the file in the Finder and choose File > Create Archive of 
>> "filename".
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> Always use Windows-friendly attachments: Sending attachments in “Windows 
>> friendly” format (omits resource forks, if they exist).
>> 
>> To tell Mail to use Windows-friendly encoding for all new messages, choose 
>> Edit > Attachments > Send Windows-Friendly Attachments.
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> Use rich text format for graphics: Although it’s no guarantee of what will 
>> show up on the other end, you’ll improve your odds of having graphics show 
>> up correctly if you use rich text rather than plain text.
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> Always include file extensions: Extensions at the end of a file’s name.
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> Place Attachments at the bottom of an email (below your Signature)
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> To force them to go to the bottom of the message: For a single message, with 
>> that message window open: choose Edit > Attachments > Insert Attachments at 
>> End of Message. 
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> For all messages, with no message window open: Choose Edit > Attachments > 
>> Always Insert Attachments at End of Message. 
>> 
>> This does not affect whether an attachment appears as an icon. 
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> I  send a lot of images as attachments to Windows Users and have not had any 
>> of the recipients experiencing any problems.
>> 
>> I always use the above recommendations which are found in "Take Control Of 
>> Apple Mail in Snow Leopard".
>> 
>>  
>> 
>>  
>> 
>> Cheers,
>> Ronni
>> 
>> 17" MacBook Pro  Intel Core i7
>> 2.66GHz / 8GB / 1067 MHz DDR3 / 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200rpm
>> 
>> OS X 10.6.6 Snow Leopard
>> Windows 7 Ultimate (under sufferance)
>> 
>> 




-- The WA Macintosh User Group Mailing List --
Archives - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/archives.shtml>
Guidelines - <http://www.wamug.org.au/mailinglist/guidelines.shtml>
Unsubscribe - <mailto:[email protected]>